Recent

Author Topic: UTF-8 in editor  (Read 7708 times)

chapaev

  • Guest
UTF-8 in editor
« on: October 15, 2005, 01:37:36 am »
Hello 2 all!
1st of all, thanx for lazarus - nice tool ;)
-=-=
Here is questions:
1st - can i use another editor in lazarus, i.e. kate or vi?
2nd - why in lazarus editor i cant use UTF-8 characters?

please help ;)

felipemdc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3541
RE: UTF-8 in editor
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2005, 04:28:12 am »
1 - Yes you can. Just remember to save the source file in utf-8. This is because free pascal compiler (and lazarus) likes utf-8.

2 - It can use utf-8 characters, or at least should. What it currently can´t do is recognize "Key Combos". For instance ´ + A will appear as ´A instead of Á ... this is a recognized bug, is already on the Bug Tracker and will be solved on the future. This bug is only existent on gtk. Lazarus for Windows supports key combos.

What language are you trying to type in? Can you explain better the 2nd question?

Anonymous

  • Guest
RE: UTF-8 in editor
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2005, 09:07:27 pm »
about question2
I'm writing in russian, but i see nothing in code editor, the symbol in russian i type, just splash in code, then disappear ;)
btw, if i try to write,
label1.caption:='ФЫВА ЮАЛ';
and try to comile project, on running form I see only empty label caption.
and i see nothing russian text in source editor ;)
All (lazarus 0.9.10 and project) are compiled with gtk2
AFAIR, gtk-1 doesn't support unicode. and i don't like to use gtk1
btw, here is error messages from console
(lazarus:3568): Pango-WARNING **: Invalid UTF-8 string passed to pango_layout_set_text()

felipemdc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3541
RE: UTF-8 in editor
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2005, 02:10:15 am »
Why don´t you submit this as a bug report on Mantis??

Anonymous

  • Guest
RE: UTF-8 in editor
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2005, 11:07:50 pm »
;) just because I dont know, hot 2 do that ;)

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2512
RE: UTF-8 in editor
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2005, 12:02:06 pm »
Go to the "Bug Tracking" link on the left side
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018