Recent

Author Topic: 32bit (transparent) color in OpenGL control component?  (Read 15436 times)

Peiman

32bit (transparent) color in OpenGL control component?
« on: July 08, 2011, 08:35:23 pm »
Hi,
I am a newbie in OpenGL. I have started with TOpenGLControl component. I wonder whether I can draw "transparent" surfaces with it similar to 2D gdi+ by changing the 4th byte of the color (alpha)?

Carver413

Re: 32bit (transparent) color in OpenGL control component?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2011, 11:53:00 pm »
yes it is possible. how you go about it depends on whether you are using old opengl or new. most likely you are using old since lazarus doesn't implement any new code. check out
http://nehe.gamedev.net/
http://www.pascalgamedevelopment.com/
Lazarus doesn't do much in the way of opengl.
I am working on some modern code but haven't got a real transparency shader yet. just one that clips transparent bits from view. if your planing to display a bunch of 3d objects with transparency this can get quite difficult do to the limitations of opengl. I guess it messes up the Z buffer and things might not turn out the way you would expect.   

Carver413

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2011, 06:22:19 am »
digging through some of my old code I think this is what your looking for

Code: [Select]
    glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, Font.Texture);// bind the texture
    glBlendFunc(GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA);// set the blend mode
    glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);//turn on depth testing
    glEnable(GL_BLEND);// turn on blending   
you must use a RGBA texture and this code is useless if your using a shader. if your not using a texture then I guess you would set the alpha in
glColor4f(1.0,0.7,0.3,0.5);

Peiman

« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2011, 09:38:36 am »
Thanks all,

I found this on http://www.opengl.org/resources/faq/technical/transparency.htm:

glEnable (GL_BLEND);
  glBlendFunc (GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA);