Recent

Author Topic: uEControls  (Read 37528 times)

Graeme

• Graeme on the web
Re: uEControls
« Reply #45 on: October 23, 2015, 10:54:39 am »
Is there any links or pages explaining how to write good and more organized controls? I'm a self-taught programmer and I do not follow any good coding standard, but I want to learn to be better.
You learn it with experience and lots of reading. Reading some books or internet articles on Design Patterns is a very good starting point. Here are some I wrote for a programming magazine a couple years ago. http://geldenhuys.co.uk/articles/
 Books on Enterprise Software Engineering or Refactoring is also good.
--
fpGUI Toolkit - a cross-platform GUI toolkit using Free Pascal
http://fpgui.sourceforge.net/

taazz

« Reply #46 on: October 23, 2015, 11:37:09 am »
I'm against about properties my self too. I remove them on all the components I use in my applications. Although minimal the about properties are nothing more than trash eating memory away. One control is not a problem usually all of them is.

The "user" of a set of components is the developer that uses the component to build his application. In Lazarus when you right click the icon of a component you can choose open the unit, and the developer can view immediately the origin and author of this component. In typhon (a copy of Lazarus) when you choose to open the unit, you see the wrapper imposed by pitotlogic, any notice about the real author is not shown until you go more deeper. That is why we put the about property,  and in the case of our components it not really a overload. Of course all have the possibility of use a better made set of components without the about property and avoid it. But if someone want to use our work must respect that we written in our copyright notice.