Recent

Author Topic: Lazarus Component list  (Read 30706 times)

marcov

• Administrator
  • FPC developer.
Re: Lazarus Component list
« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2011, 10:36:09 am »

Very good point indeed. There are a lot of initiatives but there's no one actually producing something. That is why I would stick to fppkg, because it's also used for FPC and Joost has already done work on it to get it working for Lazarus it will be the best starting point.

On the other hand, I'm no core developer, so I would ask on the mailing list first before choosing one way or the other. Having a package manager is a very much appreciated feature. Just don't make the mistake to start off wrong and waste your time because the core team already decided on some strategy.

And people should realize this is a quite long term process. It is easy to imagine some simple global memory structure and derive from that, but the many targets, tweaks options, and ways to install are a problem. 

But Joost has finally started to roll it out.  And while there are problems, one shouldn't forget that the move from handcrafted makefiles to fpcmake also took two periods of about half an year (first Sebastian?, then Peter) to introduce.

Glenn

• Code-Kungfu.com
« Reply #16 on: April 21, 2011, 08:04:02 pm »
How congrete plans you have at this point? Did you look at fppkg? Does it fit into the picture?

I've done done some research and trying to lay out plans for the project.

I did take a look at fppkg and it fits mostly into the picture :)
However, a lot of changes has to be made to fppkg if the wish-list should be fulfilled.
- I might branch fppkg and implement the ideas, as I find the changes too radical until they're been approved by the fp team :)

I'll publish a roadmap on the google code page in one of the forthcoming days. when time allows.

Best regards
Glenn

dblaszijk

« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2011, 08:12:40 am »