Recent

Author Topic: Help from Mac Gurus Please  (Read 5429 times)

huwmungous

Help from Mac Gurus Please
« on: March 14, 2011, 02:31:21 pm »
Hi, all.

I have been asked to create a (command line) solution which will work on Windows and Mac simply to change the desktop background.  I supposed Lazarus would be a good choice but now I am not so sure. 

The requirements are very simple

• The executable needs to be 100% standalone with no additional installs required.
  • When invoked the program must load a jpg or a bitmap to the desktop background
  • A GUI is not necessary, though possibly desirable
  • The solution needs to be 'lowest common denominator' - ie guaranteed to work on the most up-to-date OSs and then as many earlier versions as possible.

Any suggestions as to how I might aproach this would be very greatly appreciated.  I am a decent programmer but have virtually no Mac experience whatsoever.  The windows version is already written. 

• I am unsure if I should be looking at widget-sets (and if so - which one) or scripts
  • I need some sort of VM as a development environment and dont know if a 680x0 emulator is the one to go for (I am aware of Universal Binaries btw).  I am guessing this is dependent upon the approach I take for the function itself.
  • I need to know what the most generic solution is likely to be
  • I am concerned there may be more questions I need to ask the customer before designing a solution
  • I do not know if there is some glaringly simple solution that I have not yet considered.  Possibly not involving Lazrus (?)

Sorry the question is a bit 'Noob' - the solution is doubtless not complicated when you know how.

Cheers
Hugh

Laksen

• J-Software
Re: Help from Mac Gurus Please
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2011, 04:04:45 pm »
This might be helpful: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3220416/how-to-get-and-set-the-wallpaper-in-objective-c-on-mac-osx