Recent

Author Topic: When GTK3 in Lazarus?  (Read 10837 times)

laguna

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« on: February 14, 2011, 07:49:36 pm »
When GTK3 in Lazarus?

marcov

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8491
  • FPC developer.
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2011, 08:01:04 pm »
When it is ready(TM)

laguna

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2011, 08:17:24 pm »
a roadmap has already been prepared?

Leledumbo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8223
  • Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2011, 12:07:51 am »
Well... it's just released 5 days ago. I don't think we'll have that soon (unless somebody is already interested and starts writing the bindings AND the widgetset).

Blaazen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2817
  • POKE 54296,15
    • Eye-Candy Controls
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2011, 01:03:42 am »
You can see in Lazarus sources (..lcl/interfaces/) that gtk2 folder has 4MB and qt has 5MB so it seems it is not a weekend job to write it.  :)
Lazarus 2.1.0 r61214:62238 FPC 3.3.1 r40507 x86_64-linux-qt Chakra, Qt 4.8.7/5.13.2, Plasma 5.17.3
Lazarus 1.8.2 r57369 FPC 3.0.4 i386-win32-win32/win64 Wine 3.21

Try Eye-Candy Controls: https://sourceforge.net/projects/eccontrols/files/

motaz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 508
    • http://code.sd
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2011, 10:24:25 am »
I read once that GTK2 is not fully implemented in Lazarus, it is more like porting GTK1 Lazarus to GTK2.

what is the minimum requirement for volunteers to join Lazarus GTK2 or GTK3 development in Lazarus?
is there any guides for them?

Almindor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
    • http://www.astarot.tk
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2011, 10:28:57 am »
From what I understand gtk3 is more compatible with gtk2 than gtk2 was with gtk1.

So in short, we just need to follow the migration documentation found here http://library.gnome.org/devel/gtk/unstable/gtk-migrating-2-to-3.html and most things should "just work" (TM).

I do have it planned to test lazarus on gtk3 once it gets to Arch linux and I get some time.

Gtk3 also brings a few things which could be beneficial to Lazarus too.

linuxer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Systemd kills Linux Freedom Move to Artix Linux
    • Linuxer
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2020, 01:10:24 am »
Hi to all,

Sorry if is not the right thread.

I would like to ask the same question and to mention that, now we are not certain for how long Qt5 will continue to exist on Linux Distributions, due to the change of their policy, as stated here https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Qt-Might-Restrict-New-Releases  :(

If they don't step back (imho, they will not), many of the Linux users will be forced to leave KDE, so they will return back to GTK3 Desktops.

Also consider that, GTK2 Desktops have nearly reached to eol.

As stated here https://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Roadmap#General_status_of_LCL_interfaces, it is still on Alpha Stage.

Therefor, it's development should go on instead of Qt5.

Awaiting further news.

Regards
« Last Edit: April 09, 2020, 01:21:06 am by linuxer »

dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1072
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2020, 01:35:20 am »
There was some recent discussion about Qt5 license https://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php?topic=49100.0

If you are writing open source, you don't have a problem. I am not personally convinced the changes will see an end to eg KDE but you are certainly right that GTK2 is not the solution it used to be.

You can certainly use GTK3 now, however, its incomplete and unstable in places. Unless you are very selective of what you use, it is sure not ready for production use.  But it never will be if people don' use it, find problems, report them and ideally provide patches to fix them.

I have been advised that the trunk version of Lazarus is better at GTK3, I cannon confirm that but its certainly better at Qt5.

Davo
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

linuxer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Systemd kills Linux Freedom Move to Artix Linux
    • Linuxer
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2020, 02:08:19 am »
Thanks for your quick response.  :)

I am on trunk versions for both FPC and Lazarus.

Yes, perhaps you are right regarding KDE, but actually nobody knows, e.g. Oracle Java story.

So, I will test and, if I face any further issue, I will report it (here, or another channel or thread?)

Regards

linuxer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Systemd kills Linux Freedom Move to Artix Linux
    • Linuxer
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2020, 03:02:23 am »
 :( Sorry to bother again, but my project cannot build with LCLWidgetType:=gtk3, although I am using trunk versions.

It is giving errors at gtk3widgets unit.

Regards

GAN

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 288
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2020, 05:19:04 am »
....
So, I will test and, if I face any further issue, I will report it (here, or another channel or thread?)

Regards

Please, report all bugs here: https://bugs.freepascal.org/my_view_page.php
Lazarus 2.0.8 FPC 3.0.4 Linux Mint Mate 19.3
Zeos 7.1.3 - Sqlite 3.8.2

Foro Lazarus en español http://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/board,73.0.html

zeljko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1141
    • http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/User:Zeljan
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2020, 09:09:59 am »
Hi to all,

Sorry if is not the right thread.

I would like to ask the same question and to mention that, now we are not certain for how long Qt5 will continue to exist on Linux Distributions, due to the change of their policy, as stated here https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Qt-Might-Restrict-New-Releases  :(

If they don't step back (imho, they will not), many of the Linux users will be forced to leave KDE, so they will return back to GTK3 Desktops.

Also consider that, GTK2 Desktops have nearly reached to eol.

As stated here https://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Roadmap#General_status_of_LCL_interfaces, it is still on Alpha Stage.

Therefor, it's development should go on instead of Qt5.

Awaiting further news.

Regards

Directly from Qt:
https://lists.qt-project.org/pipermail/development/2020-January/038316.html

Only LTS binary / and devel binaries created by Qt are affected.
For LTS you need commercial licence, for binaries you need an account at Qt. Basically, nothing changes for linux distros and commercial users which uses linux packages.
So, only LTS won't be available for all users. That's how I understood those changes.

zeljko


dbannon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1072
    • tomboy-ng, a rewrite of the classic Tomboy
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2020, 09:22:00 am »

linuxer, did you install libgtk-3-dev  ?

What does your error message actually say ?

David
Lazarus 2, Linux (and reluctantly Win10, OSX)
My Project - https://github.com/tomboy-notes/tomboy-ng

linuxer

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Systemd kills Linux Freedom Move to Artix Linux
    • Linuxer
Re: When GTK3 in Lazarus?
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2020, 10:06:38 am »

linuxer, did you install libgtk-3-dev  ?

What does your error message actually say ?

David

I am on Artix Linux and there is no libgtk-3-dev like Debian or *buntus, and yes gtk3 is installed.

The error message I get is: gtk3widgets.pas(6589,47) Error: Operator is not overloaded: "Class Of TRadioButton" and "Boolean"

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018