Recent

Author Topic: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)  (Read 526436 times)

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3647
    • Personal webpage
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #450 on: February 19, 2013, 09:49:46 am »
Congratulations  :)

Thank you very much for your effort.

Well, I want first the program to be tested before I release it as a binary, because after that, it will be spread over the Internet, and I want the first version of layered LazPaint to be sufficiently stable. So please try to make the program explode !

The Layer Window is not visible by default because it is a bit complicated. I do not want to frighten users. On the other side, maybe the could think that layers cannot be used. That's why I added a button in the tool bar to show the layer window. Do you suggest that it is not obvious enough?
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

j0x

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #451 on: February 19, 2013, 12:09:17 pm »
The Layer Window is not visible by default because it is a bit complicated. I do not want to frighten users.

Paint.NET has layers defaulted to visible too so i think its safe for most people to see the layers window

That's why I added a button in the tool bar to show the layer window. Do you suggest that it is not obvious enough?

maybe adding a tooltip with text that says "Layers Window" can make it more obvious

btw if you want more feature suggestion i can suggest having text outline thickness setting, and yes the text tool also has an error it says "Access Violation", im using Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit i compiled LazPaint 5.0 with this lazarus-1.0.6-fpc-2.6.0-win32.exe

the layers window is acting fine and nice that you added "Blending Modes" on it thats really cool  :D

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3647
    • Personal webpage
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #452 on: February 20, 2013, 12:24:16 am »
The Layer Window is not visible by default because it is a bit complicated. I do not want to frighten users.
Paint.NET has layers defaulted to visible too so i think its safe for most people to see the layers window
Alright, let it be visible from the beggining.

Quote
maybe adding a tooltip with text that says "Layers Window" can make it more obvious
Oh, maybe the action list replaced it, ok that's fixed.

Quote
btw if you want more feature suggestion i can suggest having text outline thickness setting
Yes, it's on my todo list

Quote
and yes the text tool also has an error it says "Access Violation", im using Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit i compiled LazPaint 5.0 with this lazarus-1.0.6-fpc-2.6.0-win32.exe
Even with latest BGRABitmap?

Quote
the layers window is acting fine and nice that you added "Blending Modes" on it thats really cool  :D
:)
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

j0x

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #453 on: February 20, 2013, 03:20:35 am »
Quote
maybe adding a tooltip with text that says "Layers Window" can make it more obvious
Oh, maybe the action list replaced it, ok that's fixed.

nice looking forward to it

Quote
btw if you want more feature suggestion i can suggest having text outline thickness setting
Yes, it's on my todo list

thanks a lot!

Quote
and yes the text tool also has an error it says "Access Violation", im using Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit i compiled LazPaint 5.0 with this lazarus-1.0.6-fpc-2.6.0-win32.exe
Even with latest BGRABitmap?

ye im using the following dependencies
bgrabitmap6.8.zip
bgracontrols-2.0.6.0 alpha.zip

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3647
    • Personal webpage
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #454 on: February 20, 2013, 10:20:15 am »
Alright, can you tell me where the error occurs ?

To do this, you need to :
- switch to debug mode for LazPaint (this is in the top left toolbar when you open this project)
- and to change compilation options of BGRABitmapPack :
   - open package, click Options
   - in Code generation, set Level 1 optimization (-O1) and uncheck register variables (-Or)
   - in Linking, click the first check box to generate debugger info

Then try to produce the bug, and the line should be highlighted.
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3647
    • Personal webpage
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #455 on: February 20, 2013, 03:07:41 pm »
Here is version 5.1 :
https://sourceforge.net/projects/lazpaint/files/src/

- when layer is invisible, layer cannot be edited
- text tool : text alignment, pressing return key go to next line
- checking for newer version online using LNet
- safe limits for image size and undo
- less memory usage

This version seems ok for me, so tell me if there is still some change to be applied before it is published as a binary. Note that missing translations are appreciated.
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

Leledumbo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8287
  • Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #456 on: February 20, 2013, 04:10:10 pm »
Quote
This version seems ok for me, so tell me if there is still some change to be applied before it is published as a binary
View->Layers:
  • Checked: layers invisible
  • Unchecked: layers visible
Sounds reversed to me

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3647
    • Personal webpage
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #457 on: February 20, 2013, 04:12:02 pm »
I understand. The check is the current state. When you click on the menu, you change that state.
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

Leledumbo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8287
  • Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #458 on: February 20, 2013, 04:29:37 pm »
Yes, so it should be made uniform with other windows: checked -> visible, unchecked -> invisible

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3647
    • Personal webpage
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #459 on: February 20, 2013, 04:47:28 pm »
But that's the case.
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

airpas

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #460 on: February 20, 2013, 06:27:15 pm »
good progression
just a small suggestion , if you could make the layers movements just like photoshop , the background frame should be fixed (zoom in/out  only) and the layers move over it .

the layer blending mode could be just a drop listbox so you just select instead of popup another window.

good work

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3647
    • Personal webpage
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #461 on: February 20, 2013, 10:37:46 pm »
good progression
Thanks.

Quote
just a small suggestion , if you could make the layers movements just like photoshop , the background frame should be fixed (zoom in/out  only) and the layers move over it .
I don't understand

Quote
the layer blending mode could be just a drop listbox so you just select instead of popup another window.
They are added to the combobox when they are selected in the popup window. My idea was that when you don't know what blending modes are, you can preview them. There are too much blending modes to put them automatically in the combobox to my opinion.
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

Leledumbo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8287
  • Programming + Glam Metal + Tae Kwon Do = Me
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #462 on: February 21, 2013, 12:35:06 am »
Quote
But that's the case.
Seems not here (fresh svn) (err... I can't take a screenshot while the menu is shown)

j0x

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #463 on: February 21, 2013, 05:44:54 am »
switch to debug mode for LazPaint (this is in the top left toolbar when you open this project)

i did not understand this line but i set the rest accordingly and i got this error message
assembler debug window pops up and shows this
Code: [Select]
00683D22 8b36 mov (%esi),%esi
screenshot
(http://i.imgur.com/QOHlpuE.png)
http://i.imgur.com/QOHlpuE.png

and here are more that might potentially help debugging
http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=t1AGiEwg
http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=WjxuXdZ8

  • Checked: layers invisible
  • Unchecked: layers visible

to me its working fine it goes like
  • Checked: layers visible
  • Unchecked: layers invisible

circular

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3647
    • Personal webpage
Re: LazPaint (alpha-blending, antialiasing, filters)
« Reply #464 on: February 21, 2013, 08:10:16 am »
@j0x:

well I can't do anything with that, there's no debug info here other than pure cpu state. here is what I was talking about :
Conscience is the debugger of the mind

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018