Recent

Author Topic: RX-Components  (Read 22092 times)

Josef Koller

  • Guest
RX-Components
« on: May 21, 2005, 08:54:32 pm »
I have installed the RX-Components from the Lazarus-component-folder.
No erros. But after restart Lazarus I cann't find the RX-components in the Lazarus-component-pallete.

What's wrong?

Thanks and best regards

Josef

glober

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
RX-Components
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2005, 02:44:52 am »
You are probably running your originally installed copy of Lazarus and not the re-compiled one with the package in it.  You can set where Lazarus compiles to in Environment->Environment Options->Files->Lazarus directory.  I have Lazarus installed in my user home directory so there are no complications with permissions (running Linux) when I set my "compiled to" directory to be the same as the installed directory. If you are running Windows you may not have to worry about that (don't know about permissions under Win 2000, XP, etc.).

Anonymous

  • Guest
RX-Components
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2005, 11:16:59 am »
Quote from: "glober"
If you are running Windows you may not have to worry about that (don't know about permissions under Win 2000, XP, etc.).


Hi, I use Win32 (Windows98). Any ieas what I have to do with this system environment?

Thanks
Josef

glober

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
RX-Components
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2005, 05:36:42 pm »
Quote from: "Anonymous"


Hi, I use Win32 (Windows98). Any ieas what I have to do with this system environment?



With Windows 98 just make your "compile to" Lazarus Directory the same as your "installed to" Lazarus directory and install the package again

Anonymous

  • Guest
RX-Components
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2005, 10:19:09 am »
Quote from: "glober"
Quote from: "Anonymous"


Hi, I use Win32 (Windows98). Any ieas what I have to do with this system environment?



With Windows 98 just make your "compile to" Lazarus Directory the same as your "installed to" Lazarus directory and install the package again


Hi,
I think I'm to stupid for installing components in Lazarus. I done the following steps:
Components -> open component files
select rx.lpk (in C:\Lazarus\components\rx)
Install

The problem: With other components that's all I have to do (Components -> open component files select ->Install).
Where are the pathes compile to and install to?

Lazarus was installed to C:\Lazarus.

Best regards

Josef

glober

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
RX-Components
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2005, 06:40:15 pm »
Quote from: "Anonymous"

Where are the pathes compile to and install to?

Lazarus was installed to C:\Lazarus.



"compile to" and "install to" is just my own wording.
compile to is at  Environment -> Environment Options -> Files -> Lazarus directory.
Just put C:\Lazarus in there, install package, and that should work.

Anonymous

  • Guest
RX-Components
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2005, 09:24:18 pm »
Hi again,
I will be crazy. Yes, the path is C:\Lazarus\.
Now I reinstalled Lazaurs completly. Than at first I installed RX from C.\Lazarus\components. The installation runs correctly, no errors, nothing. And no RX-components in the Lazarus-compo-palette.

Is it possible that this "default" rx.lpk is wrong? Is there another possibilty to get the rx-components for Lazarus?

Best regards

Josef

glober

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
RX-Components
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2005, 10:38:41 pm »
Quote from: "Anonymous"

Now I reinstalled Lazaurs completly. Than at first I installed RX from C.\Lazarus\components. The installation runs correctly, no errors, nothing. And no RX-components in the Lazarus-compo-palette.

Is it possible that this "default" rx.lpk is wrong? Is there another possibilty to get the rx-components for Lazarus?


I installed the RX package with no problems.  You should find TMRUManager and TStrHolder in the Misc palette tab.

Anonymous

  • Guest
RX-Components
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2005, 11:05:24 pm »
Hi,

oooh, I think I have had problems in RX-defination. I thought I get dataset-components like the delphi-rx-components(rxdbgrid, rxdbedit, ect.).
But with Lazarus I only get TMRUManager and TStrHolder. This two components are in the misc tab.
Thanks for the hint. But is it possible to get the other rx-components in Lazarus and WIN32?

Thanks again and best regards

Josef

glober

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
RX-Components
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2005, 12:05:34 am »
Quote from: "Anonymous"

But is it possible to get the other rx-components in Lazarus and WIN32?



I am not familiar with rx-components.    Maybe somebody who knows more can respond.

matthijs

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 537
RX-Components
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2005, 08:22:35 am »
From what I read in the thread only the two mentioned components have been ported to Lazarus. You could always try to port some more components yourself. Take a look at the wiki on how to and see if someone is already busy with porting more components.
If you just want data aware components, there are already standard components available and with the sqldb-package you can access several databases.
What's in a sig? Would my posting look less if it didnot have a sig? (Free after William S.) :)

:( Why cannot I upload my own Avatar? :(

Anonymous

  • Guest
RX-Components
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2005, 11:37:33 pm »
Quote from: "matthijs"
You could always try to port some more components yourself.quote]

I'm not good enough for component development. But I tested it. I created a new standard-package and added the pas-file from the Delphi-RX-Folder. I got messages like Filename and pas-name not the same. Than I built a smaller package with only some RX-pas-files. Here I got the messge that graphics or const file are missing.

I'm not shure if I can use Delphi pas-files. I think they are not free. But I gave the graphics.pas in the packages. Than the message the assembler isn't defined, ect., ect.

As I said, I'm not good enough for that thinks. I hope a better one can create this rX Db Aware components for Lazarus.

Quote from: "matthijs"
If you just want data aware components, there are already standard components available and with the sqldb-package you can access several databases.


I have the ZEOS Components (see the thread in ZEOS and Lazarus. What I need is a working grid, etc.

Best regards

Josef

jesusr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 470
RX-Components
« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2005, 07:28:29 am »
I'm interested in the part "What I need is a working grid" what features do you need?, if you detect more problems with the component (apart from what you already reported which I got it fixed) please make bug reports through mantis and I will try to fix them.

Jesus Reyes A.

beli0135

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 47
RX-Components
« Reply #13 on: February 19, 2006, 04:10:30 am »
I have problem working with IniStoredProps.

IniStoredProps.StoredValue['xx']:=edit1.text;
IniStoredProps.save;

this saves, but as I see in hex... I do not know if it is ok...

then:
IniStoredProps.restore;
edit1.text:=IniStoredProps.StoredValue['xx']

does not gets anything.

How to work with this?
Regards,
Emil Beli

jesusr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 470
RX-Components
« Reply #14 on: February 21, 2006, 09:54:06 pm »
In Lazarus version 0.9.13 I have not RX package installed however when trying the Component TIniPropStorage from the 'misc' tab con component palette with your samples above works without problems.