Recent

Author Topic: Maximize WinApi usage  (Read 9128 times)

flasher86

Maximize WinApi usage
« on: August 29, 2010, 05:32:43 pm »
Hi. I am new at Lazarus programming, but I need to learn how to program in it FAST.

I am old Delphi programmer, but now I must take LEGAL way of creating programs.

So, what I noticed so far, is that programs created in Lazarus very rarely use WinApi natively, which concerns me.

For example, when I use MessageBox, it looks and behaves differently from Delphi version (different button look and no error sound in MB_ICONERROR option).

I assume, that it's taken care by it's own library which acts like native MessageBox winapi function but it's different.

Also I assume, that if my application is supposed to work only in WIN32 then, it will be the best to use as much WinApi functions as possible (performance). Am I right?

So is there any way to maximize usage of Winapi NATIVELY? I can link my MessageBox to winapi manually but I don't want to do this with every little thing.

Please help.

EDIT: oh and btw, why I get sometimes error when I quit from my application?
I get external SIGSEGV error, but it's visible only in debugging mode. If I run the exe manually nothing appears. But It's disturbing.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2010, 06:02:10 pm by flasher86 »

Marc

• Administrator
Re: Maximize WinApi usage
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2010, 07:17:27 pm »
Hi. I am new at Lazarus programming, but I need to learn how to program in it FAST.

I am old Delphi programmer, but now I must take LEGAL way of creating programs.

So, what I noticed so far, is that programs created in Lazarus very rarely use WinApi natively, which concerns me.

why worries ? Being crossplatform, the LCL doesn't use the winapi directly. The win32 widgetset however does.
If you need the portable version of winapi, the use lclintf. This is a crossplatform  replacement for the most used winapi calls.