Lazarus

Installation => macOS / Mac OS X => Topic started by: Tricky on April 18, 2017, 09:11:49 am

Title: Unknown identifiers in own units
Post by: Tricky on April 18, 2017, 09:11:49 am
Right now I'm just experimenting with Lazarus in order to find out if Lazarus is the solution I'm looking for or not.
I'm running it now in Sierra.

I just wrote a silly test program, but I can't get it compiled due to unknown identifiers in the standard units. (I modified NONE of them)

This screenshot may provide all the information you need (http://imgur.com/1MQeUXQ)

I wonder what I can do to get this issue fixed... :-/
Title: Re: Unknown identifiers in own units
Post by: Thaddy on April 18, 2017, 10:56:57 am
Nice tricky....
No help.
You can attach screenshouts (not shots in your case)
Don't send us to other websites.
Provide code.
Learn to program
Learn manners.

I always check out dubious screen redirections. It's my job...

So:that code sucks.
Your way of showing us sucks
Show us the real deal: code....

For now your "screenshot" is marked as spam by me and also reported like that.
I know you don't mean that.
Give sourcecode.

Title: Re: Unknown identifiers in own units
Post by: molly on April 18, 2017, 11:03:33 am
@thaddy:
Although i agree with most of what you wrote, e.g. normal courtesy to show some code instead of redirecting to some picture hosting website the error as experienced by TS is real.

I know this because it was reported earlier on these forums. if i remember correctly it had to do with 32bit vs 64 bit (or the other way around). afaik those functions that are reporting missing by fpc/lazarus are deprecated by apple.
Title: Re: Unknown identifiers in own units
Post by: Thaddy on April 18, 2017, 11:11:33 am
Mmm. My Apple... Anyway, no platform etc, no code. Can't help. Re-directions should be allowed only if....
Title: Re: Unknown identifiers in own units
Post by: molly on April 18, 2017, 11:20:18 am
Agreed.

I have given enough information for TS to OCR the picture and paste the resulted function name in the search function of this board.
Title: Re: Unknown identifiers in own units
Post by: Tricky on April 18, 2017, 11:53:26 am
I used this screenshot as it showed everything there is to be shown.
The program I wrote... well it contained most of all code generated by Lazarus, I only added a command showing a message box, but the error shown already aborted the compilation before those lines of code are even accessed.

If that code in the screenshot sucks, well, then you are insulting Lazarus' own code and not mine.
Oh yeah, I'm a community moderator myself (on another site), so you don't have to tell me what forum manners are, and checking dubious links and helping people in trouble is my job too.

Well if you really want me to attach the shot then, I'd love to do that, but the file is too large (and making it smaller will make it unreadable), and I didn't use the IMG tags as I didn't want to spook the page (or the shot itself up in case of auto-resizing).

But if you really want code:
Code: [Select]
function FindCarbonFontID(const FontName: String): ATSUFontID;
var
  fn  : String;
begin
  Result := 0;

  //DebugLn('FindCarbonFontID ' + FontName);

  if SameText(FontName, 'default')
    then fn:=CarbonDefaultFont
    else fn:=FontName;
  if (fn <> '') then
  begin
    OSError(ATSUFindFontFromName(@fn[1], Length(fn),
        lclFontName, lclFontPlatform, lclFontScript,
        lclFontLanguage, Result),
      'FindCarbonFontID', 'ATSUFindFontFromName');
  end;
end;             
Part of the Carbon.pp resulting in "carbonproc.pp(513,13) Error: Identifier not found "ATSUFindFontFromName"

Quote
he search function of this board.
Used it, but I got redirected to the SMF help board in stead of the actual search feature.
In fact I even googled this before I came here, but I didn't find any useful hits on the subject.
Title: Re: Unknown identifiers in own units
Post by: molly on April 18, 2017, 12:02:23 pm
Used it, but I got redirected to the SMF help board in stead of the actual search feature.
In fact I even googled this before I came here, but I didn't find any useful hits on the subject.
Unless it is a restriction for the first 6 or something posts, i would say "it is there for me" tm. 8 hits in total (including yours).

I was referring in particular to this (http://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/topic,33589.msg217957.html#msg217957) thread, but please also see the other hits when you are able to search.

btw: that is just the code that is found inside lcl\interfaces\cocoa\cocaproc.pas edit: lcl\interfaces\cocoa\carbonproc.pp . it is more common to show your project (settings) that lead up to the error.
Title: Re: Unknown identifiers in own units
Post by: Thaddy on April 18, 2017, 12:03:41 pm
I fired up my Apple... willing to test... suspect you made a typo!!@
Add code... (DO that, I have nothing else to do..... free tester, as everybody else knows...)
TinyPortal © 2005-2018