Recent

Author Topic: debugging with Linux ?  (Read 12898 times)

Snubnose

  • Guest
debugging with Linux ?
« on: April 07, 2005, 10:41:12 am »
Hi guys...
I tried to debug my new Lazarus Project but failed baldy (linux - Lazarus 0.9.6).
When i try to set breakpoints I only get these questionmarks and it doesn't work. (win32 works perfect - but I would prefer linux)
My question: is it possible to get the Lazaruz-IDE debugging my project ? Are there any hidden switches which must be turned on ?
Thanks in advance...
  Michael

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2582
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2005, 11:45:30 am »
On Linux:
Did you define a debugger (and a correct path) ?
And what version of gdb are you using ?
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

Vincent Snijders

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2661
    • My Lazarus wiki user page
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2005, 11:51:33 am »
I don't know of hidden switches. Debugging usually works better on linux than on win32. It is possible to debug your project on linux with Lazarus.

Anonymous

  • Guest
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2005, 09:48:11 am »
thanks a lot
i just had to select gdb in settings->debugger options and insert /usr/bin/gdb

lazarus roxx hard

berghem

  • Guest
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2005, 09:10:17 pm »
Quote from: "Anonymous"
thanks a lot
i just had to select gdb in settings->debugger options and insert /usr/bin/gdb

lazarus roxx hard


I have the same problem, but when i click on the bottom, i can't press F7 or F8, and i don't see the variable value.
Why?

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2582
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2005, 12:37:03 pm »
when you click on the bottom ? the bottom of what ?
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

Anonymous

  • Guest
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2005, 08:59:13 pm »
Quote from: "Marc"
when you click on the bottom ? the bottom of what ?

Sorry  :D   the "button"

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2582
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2005, 11:21:12 am »
which button ?
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

berghem

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2005, 09:14:26 pm »
this is my procedure and I Have a breakpoint on the for

procedure TForm1.Button1Click(Sender: TObject);
var
   i,t : word;
begin
   t := 1;
   for i := 1 to 10 do begin   ////BREAKPOINT
       t := t * i;
   end;
   Label1.Caption:= IntToStr(t);
end;  

when I press the button I get in the source code but I don't see the variables values (in my case t and i) I moved the mouse on the i and t but nothing.

WHY?

Sorry for my english

matthijs

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 537
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2005, 07:09:37 am »
You expect a hint showing the value of the variable when you move the mouse over the variable? I do not think it is implemented (yet).
What's in a sig? Would my posting look less if it didnot have a sig? (Free after William S.) :)

:( Why cannot I upload my own Avatar? :(

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2582
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2005, 11:48:26 am »
This is implemented
You have to turn it on in: Environment - Editor options, Code tools tab, Tooltip expression evaluation
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

berghem

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2005, 07:03:40 pm »
That chech is checked :?  But I don't see the Hints with the value of variable

Marc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2582
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2005, 10:46:13 am »
1) while debugging, do you see some output in the view debugger output window ?
2) if you use evalueate expression, dou you get a value

BTW, you only can see values when the debugger is paused (you hit a breakpoint)
//--
{$I stdsig.inc}
//-I still can't read someones mind
//-Bugs reported here will be forgotten. Use the bug tracker

SergKam

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
debugging with Linux ?
« Reply #13 on: January 24, 2006, 03:29:37 pm »
Where?
On windows(XP SP2) and lazarus(snapshot from 23dec2005 to now). I check "use evalueate expression" i set breakpoint. in "Watch list" i see needed value. but no hints.
(same on linux ASPLinux)
??????????
Excuse for my English

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018