Recent

Author Topic: Example application always opens using Terminal and X11?  (Read 7585 times)

AndrewShanklin

Example application always opens using Terminal and X11?
« on: July 07, 2008, 05:36:54 pm »
Hey all,

I am a newbie so please bare with me...

I mainly have experience using Windows and Delphi, but thought I would give Lazarus ago on my new iMac ( Mac OS X 10.5.4).

In the end i managed to get Lazarus installed (wow, that was complicated) and I can can now access Lazarus and can compile a basic app.

When I create a basic app it produces project1.app and when i then execute this application from the desktop It opens X11 and Terminal and runs in Terminal or using x11 I am not sure which.

How do I configure Lazarus so that when I compile an application (using run or build) it produces a .app file which will just run on its own and not using any other program - like i do in Lazarus on Windows where it creates a .exe file?

I have tried to figure this out myself by using Tools -> "Configure Build Lazarus" and playing with the various options like compile with all packages but If i do this i always get:

/usr/local/share/lazarus/tools/svn2revisioninc.pas(373) Error: Can't create assembler file: ./svn2revisioninc.s

Like I say I am not sure what I am doing or if this is even relavent but I could do with some advice please...

I am using the Lazarus Mac OS X i386 packages.

Thanks in advance.

Andy.

Phil

Re: Example application always opens using Terminal and X11?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2008, 07:39:56 pm »
Quote from: "AndrewShanklin"
Like I say I am not sure what I am doing or if this is even relavent but I could do with some advice please...

Out of the box, the snapshots should not require any additional installation except for a one-time installation of the Apple programming tools (includes assembler, linker, etc.). The FPC installer checks for this, so if it didn't complain you should be okay.

To create a native Carbon-based GUI app: