Recent

Author Topic: Implementation question about TFPHTTPClient  (Read 2332 times)

Xor-el

Implementation question about TFPHTTPClient
« on: February 19, 2019, 03:47:41 pm »
So I was reading about TFPHTTPClient today and discovered that to perform HTTPS requests, OpenSSL binaries has to be available on the host system.
So I wanted to ask if there is any reason FPC developers when designing TFPHTTPClient decided against following the Delphi pattern in System.net.HTTPClient of encapsulating each supported OS networking capabilities as Delphi did which will remove the dependency for OpenSSL binaries when performing HTTPS operations (at least for OSes that supports this)?

Xor-el

Re: Implementation question about TFPHTTPClient
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2019, 01:49:45 pm »
any updates please?  :(

lucamar

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2019, 02:04:47 pm »
I'm not an FPC developer so I know nothng of their reasons but one fundamental difference between Delphi and FPC has always been the multi-platform nature of the later. Too achieve this it is usually useful to rely on multi-platform libraries and since the more widely used multi-platform SSL lib is OpenSSL ... well there you have it. It's something similar to the reliance on SDL/OpenGL for graphics/mutimedia--although not so marked with these.

Note also that both Indy and Synapse, the more used web libraries for Delphi, depend on OpenSSL too (or other even more esoteric libs in the case of Synapse), so there must be something going for it.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2019, 02:06:50 pm by lucamar »
Turbo Pascal 3 CP/M - Amstrad PCW 8256 (512 KB !!!) :P
Lazarus/FPC 2.0.8/3.0.4 & 2.0.12/3.2.0 - 32/64 bits on:
(K|L|X)Ubuntu 12..18, Windows XP, 7, 10 and various DOSes.

Xor-el

« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2019, 03:48:16 pm »