Recent

Author Topic: lldb on windows?  (Read 820 times)

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5029
    • wiki
Re: lldb on windows?
« Reply #15 on: January 03, 2019, 01:42:12 pm »
fpDebug seems to crash for me.

Which Lazarus? 2.0RC3 or revision?
How to reproduce?

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5029
    • wiki
Re: lldb on windows?
« Reply #16 on: January 03, 2019, 04:50:34 pm »
I run your "printf" example. (using lldb 6.0.1 / the 7.x downloads seem to come without lldb)

LLDB indeed steps into the printf call. That is despite the IDE sending a "step over" (I checked).
I don't know why lldb does this. But it can't be fixed in the IDE.

You can set a breakpoint in the next line and use F9. But that is of course extra work.

I also run the example in FpDebug, and that worked fine for me (using Lazarus trunk)

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5029
    • wiki
Re: lldb on windows?
« Reply #17 on: January 05, 2019, 04:03:26 pm »
Just another update. During testing (lldb 6.0.1).

The 64bit lldb, does not show any stack. Only the topframe is visible. Also watches/locals only work for the top frame.

The 32bit version has a working stack. But when selecting lower stack frames, it does not always respect that when returning register values for that frame. (the exact conditions are not clear). Therefore (using lldb + fpdebug) locals and watches for other stackframes may show incorrect values.

The lldb only (no fpdebug) 32bit version may not be affected. Not tested.

--
Generally the lldb only (no fpdebug) versions are a by-product of the "fp+lldb" debugger. So they receive minimal support.