Recent

Author Topic: Curious (old?) comment about Pascal for systems programming  (Read 3557 times)

dtoffe

So I read about Ultibo project and just out of curiosity started a search for operating systems written in Pascal or Wirthian languages, Oberon System for example. This page called my attention:

http://wiki.c2.com/?WirthLanguages

Quote:
      "it is worth noting that Pascal was intended for systems programming and not just for education. And it was, somehow, used for systems programming here and there, but it is worth pointing out that, on platforms where C was also available, Pascal was not used for systems programming. Pascal forced a great deal more use of assembly language to get around language restrictions."

I assume this comment refers to "old" (pre Turbo era) Pascal.

I'm not experienced in systems (kernel, drivers) development, and in fact I haven't used Pascal for many years now.
     What could those "language restrictions" be, compared to C ??

Thanks,

Daniel

Phil

Re: Curious (old?) comment about Pascal for systems programming
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2018, 02:36:10 am »

Was there ever a "platform" where C was not available?

Have no idea what's being referenced here. I'm not even sure what a "systems programming" language is. Note that's one of the claims for Swift too, that you could write an entire OS in it.

https://developer.apple.com/library/content/documentation/Swift/Conceptual/Swift_Programming_Language/index.html

jamie

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2018, 03:11:06 am »
back in the days of TP I could write a device driver for DOS, a TSR etc...
to do so I had to do something that would not link in the System unit and thus only the
*.bin file was present.

Using the CONST feature, I could place header info at the start of the file and it worked like a charm.

The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing

Ultibo

• Ultibo.org
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2018, 12:44:19 pm »
     I assume this comment refers to "old" (pre Turbo era) Pascal.