Recent

Author Topic: Alt-G does not work any more  (Read 7780 times)

Relativity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Alt-G does not work any more
« on: April 05, 2018, 11:33:24 am »
Recently I have installed Lazarus 1.8.2 on my new Computer. It is the first time that I install Lazarus on this Computer.
I have copied my projects, developed with old Lazarus versions (I guess it was Lazarus 1.6.0) on my old Computer, to the new one, to carry them on.
Everything looks ok, but when I press Alt-g or I call List Procedures from the menu, I get the following message:

TControl.InvalidatePreferresSize loop detected TB:TToolBar Bounds=|=0,t=0,r=1188,b=32.

Press OK to ignore and risk data corruption.
Press Abort to kill the program

Then I select "Abort". Lazarus is closed and I get the following message:

Access Violation
Access Violation

Is that maybe a bug in Lazarus 1.8.2 ?
"How'm I gonna get through?"
  -- Pet Shop Boys

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4958
    • wiki
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2018, 01:21:28 pm »
OS ?

Did you add any package to the IDE?

It works fine for me on Windows Vista (still...)

Relativity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2018, 01:44:05 pm »
Martin_fr,
thank you very much for your help.

I have Windows 7.
I didn't add any package to the IDE.
"How'm I gonna get through?"
  -- Pet Shop Boys

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3511
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2018, 02:18:54 pm »
What happens if you do the same in a new empty project?
If that works open up your other project (in which alt+g failed) and try to strip code until it works.

It could be related to the following bug:
https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=32951

If it's your config you can go to %localappdata%\lazarus (in your explorer) and look in envronmentoptions.xml.
What is the value of Width and Height of <Name Value="TProcedureListForm"/> ?

You could try renaming that file and restarting lazarus to get a fresh clean version.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2018, 02:28:19 pm by rvk »

Relativity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2018, 02:40:05 pm »
If I open a new project and I do Alt-G as first action after having opened the project, I immediately get the over-mentioned error.
"How'm I gonna get through?"
  -- Pet Shop Boys

dsyrios

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2018, 03:58:10 pm »
Hi,
I have the same problem.
So... I stopped to use Alt-G  :D

Laz 1.8.2/FPC 3.0.4/win32
Laz 1.8.2/FPC 3.0.4/win32

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3511
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2018, 03:59:58 pm »
Please refer to what the values are mentioned earlier...

If it's your config you can go to %localappdata%\lazarus (in your explorer) and look in envronmentoptions.xml.
What is the value of Width and Height of <Name Value="TProcedureListForm"/> ?

You could try renaming that file and restarting lazarus to get a fresh clean version.

If you rename envronmentoptions.xml, does it work after that?
If so, you can rename it back and post the original envronmentoptions.xml here.

dsyrios

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2018, 04:01:51 pm »
for me... on win7

<Name Value="TProcedureListForm"/>
<Size Width="950" Height="680"/>
Laz 1.8.2/FPC 3.0.4/win32

dsyrios

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2018, 04:05:44 pm »
@rvk
You are right !!!
Now it's ok!
thanks
Laz 1.8.2/FPC 3.0.4/win32

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3511
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #9 on: April 05, 2018, 04:06:43 pm »
Now it's ok!
Those values worked for me fine. Maybe it depends on the resolution of your screen 1920x1080 for me.

What worked for you now? Renaming the file?
Maybe just deleting that section mentioning those values (or adjusting those values) is sufficient.

dsyrios

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #10 on: April 05, 2018, 04:10:43 pm »
@rvk
Yes... renaming the file.
Laz 1.8.2/FPC 3.0.4/win32

dsyrios

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 45
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2018, 04:21:35 pm »
Ooops !
It came again.

 
Laz 1.8.2/FPC 3.0.4/win32

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3511
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #12 on: April 05, 2018, 04:30:19 pm »
Ooops !
It came again.
Could you try removing the <dialog></dialog> tags containing the TProcedureListForm values.
Does that help.

If it helps we need to know the values and the resolution of your screen.
Did you happen to maximize that screen?
You're not using the docking-packages by any chance, are you?

Relativity

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #13 on: April 05, 2018, 04:30:46 pm »
In my environmentoptions file I don't have that entry (<Name Value="TProcedureListForm"/>) at all.
I renamed environmentoptions to environmentoptionsOLD, then I opened Lazarus again, but ALT-g still doesn't work and Lazarus doesn't create a new environmentoptions file.

Here is the content of my environmentoptions file:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<CONFIG>
  <EnvironmentOptions>
    <Version Value="110" Lazarus="1.8.2"/>
    <LazarusDirectory Value="C:\lazarus">
    </LazarusDirectory>
    <CompilerFilename Value="$Lazarusdir\fpc\3.0.4\bin\x86_64-win64\\fpc.exe">
    </CompilerFilename>
    <FPCSourceDirectory Value="$(LazarusDir)fpc\$(FPCVer)\source">
    </FPCSourceDirectory>
    <MakeFilename Value="$Lazarusdir\fpc\3.0.4\bin\x86_64-win64\\make.exe">
    </MakeFilename>
    <TestBuildDirectory Value="C:\Users\A.Conti\AppData\Local\Temp\">
    </TestBuildDirectory>
    <Debugger Class="TGDBMIDebugger"/>
  </EnvironmentOptions>
</CONFIG>


Thank you rvk for your time.
"How'm I gonna get through?"
  -- Pet Shop Boys

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3511
Re: Alt-G does not work any more
« Reply #14 on: April 05, 2018, 04:32:55 pm »
I renamed environmentoptions to environmentoptionsOLD, then I opened Lazarus again, but ALT-g still doesn't work and Lazarus doesn't create a new environmentoptions file.
In that case you might have installed Lazarus 1.8.2 with the option to put the configuration files somewhere else.
(because Laz should always recreate that file)

Check the C:\Lazarus\lazarus.cfg for any option as to where your configuration files are located.