Recent

Author Topic: How to edit the LCL package?  (Read 778 times)

richie765

How to edit the LCL package?
« on: November 15, 2023, 06:54:59 am »
Hi there,

I'm tryng to fix a bug in the LCL package. I've narrowed down the problem to the file carbon/customdrawnwinapi_cocoa.inc. I'm pretty new to packages and how they work, so please forgive my ignorance. :) I'm trying to edit this file but it opens as read-only from the package viewer.

Can someone please give me a quick summary of how to edit and compile the package so I can test and debug my fix?

BTW I searched with Google but I didn't find what I needed.

Thanks!!
« Last Edit: November 15, 2023, 07:00:32 am by richie765 »

cdbc

• http://www.cdbc.dk
Re: How to edit the LCL package?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2023, 07:32:29 am »
Hi
On my Linux-lappy, the lcl-units are located in a ReadOnly section /owned/ by 'root'. Maybe it's like that on your mac...?
Fwiw, @dbannon found a way to circumvent this, by locating the lcl-dir and 'chown' the owner to /you/, then compile and 'chown' back to root... that works, but be careful, when fiddling with the lcl... %)
Regards Benny
If it ain't broke, don't fix it ;)
PCLinuxOS(rolling release) 64bit -> KDE5 -> FPC 3.2.2 -> Lazarus 2.2.6 up until Jan 2024 from then on it's: KDE5/QT5 -> FPC 3.3.1 -> Lazarus 3.0

TRon

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2023, 07:44:01 am »
As cdbc mentioned using a 'normal' installation of Lazarus (meaning by means of a package manager or some other form of pre-configured package) usually let the original Lazarus source-code end up in restricted directories.

If you want to fiddle with Lazarus' source-code then it is advisable to make a (free from any restriction) standalone installation, preferably created manually by compiling the sources.