Recent

Author Topic: Can I treat tmemo.caption as a string array?  (Read 2928 times)

CurtisHoffmann

Can I treat tmemo.caption as a string array?
« on: April 10, 2018, 08:40:25 am »
I'm just starting out with Lazarus and Free Pascal, and there's a big learning curve.
I'm trying to make a CryptoQuip type puzzle solver, where I'm using a tMemo object to hold both the encrypted text, and the user's input. Like so:

Encrypted line 1
User input (space padded)

Encrypted line 2
user input (space padded)

I'm using memo.onkeypress to trap the user input (A=B), then I want to step through encrypted lines 1 and 2, looking for the first letter entered, and then place the second letter on the next line down.

Question: Is there any way to do something like:

memo.caption[characterCounter] := ch2;

Or, do I have to make my changes to a separate variable like below all the time?

var str: string:
{change str}
memo.caption := str;

Thanks.

furious programming

Re: Can I treat tmemo.caption as a string array?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2018, 01:18:45 pm »
If you want to access to the given line, you can use Lines property:

Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. Memo.Lines[LineIndex] := 'new line value';
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. var
  2.   LLine: String;
  3. begin
  4.   LLine := Memo.Lines[LineIndex];

In such a simple program, it does not matter if you operate directly on properties, or if you write a text to a temporary variable. However, not everything can be done using the Lines or Caption properties - eg System.Delete will not work because it requires a variable.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2018, 01:27:33 pm by furious programming »
Lazarus 3.2 with FPC 3.2.2, Windows 10 — all 64-bit

Working solo on an acrade, action/adventure game in retro style (pixelart), programming the engine and shell from scratch, using Free Pascal and SDL. Release planned in 2026.

CurtisHoffmann

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2018, 04:16:58 pm »