Recent

Author Topic: Indy's FTP Component crashes the IDE  (Read 7355 times)

Flomo

Indy's FTP Component crashes the IDE
« on: December 30, 2017, 09:44:41 am »
I am very new to Lazarus and wanted to start with porting a little program originally developed with Delphi7.
Using the OPM I installed Indy 10.6.2.5440, installation and recompiling the IDE worked w/o a problem.
When I now put an FTP client component onto the form, the objectinspector does not show any properties of the component, switching between the form and the FTP component crashes the IDE.

Can anyone confirm this or offer some advise how to fix this.

Florian

balazsszekely

Re: Indy's FTP Component crashes the IDE
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2017, 10:14:45 am »
Hi Flomo,

Welcome to the forum. Can you please specify your Lazarus/FPC version? Operating system? I will take a look later. Until then, as a workaround, you can add in Project Inspector, package indy_laz to your project "Required Packages"(if not already there), unit IdFTP.pas to the uses clauses, then create FTP component dynamically, like this:

Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. var
  2.   IdFTP1: TIdFTP;
  3.   //...
  4.   IdFTP1 := TIdFTP.Create(Self);
  5.   with IdFTP1 do
  6.   begin
  7.     Name := 'IdFTP1';
  8.     //...
  9.   end;

PS: Don't forget to free IdFTP1 when you no longer need it.

regards,
GetMem

Flomo

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2017, 11:42:06 am »
Hi GetMem,

thanks for your help.

I am using a fresh installation of Lazarus 1.8.0, FPC-Version 3.0.4, SVN -Version 56594 on Win7-64.

Meanwhile, I have tried some of the other Indy Components available, those do NOT show the effect described.

Florian

WooBean

« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2017, 06:24:50 pm »
Hi Flomo,
I have an observation that component TIdFTP from Indy10 package 10.6.2.5440 crashes when used in 64 bit environment (tested in win 7/64, lazarus 1.8.0, FPC 3.0.4 win64/win64 and linux mint 18.3 64 bit, lazarus 1.8.0, FPC 3.0.4, x86_64, gtk2).