* * *

Author Topic: 64-bit or 32-bit Lazarus on 64-bit Windows 10?  (Read 2863 times)

bill0287

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
64-bit or 32-bit Lazarus on 64-bit Windows 10?
« on: December 11, 2017, 05:53:36 pm »
I seem to remember that is was recommended to install and use 32-bit Lazarus on a 64-bit Windows machine...is that still true in Lazarus 1.8?

molly

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2345
Re: 64-bit or 32-bit Lazarus on 64-bit Windows 10?
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2017, 06:03:39 pm »
That depends.

Do you create more often a 32-bit app or a 64-bit app ? That should determine what would be better for you to install.

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7139
Re: 64-bit or 32-bit Lazarus on 64-bit Windows 10?
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2017, 06:21:46 pm »
Indeed depends. But my new laptop is - almost - 32 bit software free. I consider it legacy for the platform. (although it has merits)
E.g. on Linux you have to explicitly install a subsystem to get 32 bit working on a 64 bit system.
inline variables like in D10.3 are a bit like Brexit: if you are given the wrong information it sounds like a good idea. Every kid loves candy, but it makes you fat and your teeth will disappear.

tetrastes

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: 64-bit or 32-bit Lazarus on 64-bit Windows 10?
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2017, 07:04:36 pm »
May be you seem to remember this:
Quote
Current released versions of FPC (2.6.x) do not include support for SEH handling. This can affect the stability of many 64 bit applications. Therefore it is recommended to use the 32bit IDE, and generate 32bit applications only. This will change when FPC 3.0 is released.
Please visit our forums and Wiki for additional information.
http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Windows_Programming_Tips#FPC_2.6.x.2FLazarus_warning_.28Missing_support_for_SEH.29
If so, this is not true since Lazarus 1.6.

bigeno

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 212
Re: 64-bit or 32-bit Lazarus on 64-bit Windows 10?
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2017, 07:21:49 pm »
I've both lazarus x86 and x64 on win64

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7139
Re: 64-bit or 32-bit Lazarus on 64-bit Windows 10?
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2017, 08:07:22 pm »
May be you seem to remember this:
Quote
Current released versions of FPC (2.6.x) do not include support for SEH handling. This can affect the stability of many 64 bit applications. Therefore it is recommended to use the 32bit IDE, and generate 32bit applications only. This will change when FPC 3.0 is released.
Please visit our forums and Wiki for additional information.
http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Windows_Programming_Tips#FPC_2.6.x.2FLazarus_warning_.28Missing_support_for_SEH.29
If so, this is not true since Lazarus 1.6.

Yeah, "Germany invaded Poland we are at war...." (1939) since 3.0.0 Which is also old, there ARE no issues with SEH. (2015)
inline variables like in D10.3 are a bit like Brexit: if you are given the wrong information it sounds like a good idea. Every kid loves candy, but it makes you fat and your teeth will disappear.

 

Recent

Get Lazarus at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads Open Hub project report for Lazarus