Recent

Author Topic: can i make server?  (Read 68297 times)

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6111
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #150 on: October 24, 2017, 12:23:05 pm »
wait so it doesn't work with you ip? doesn't that mean there's something wrong with my server program?
No, there is something wrong with the port forwarding.

If I try to connect to your external IP on port 1500, your internet router (which is directly connected to the internet) should forward the connection on port 1500 to your internal IP.

In your router you should forward port 1500 to IP address 192.168.1.?? or 10.0.0.?? or some other internal IP address of your computer. (NOT 0.0.0.0 !!)

shs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #151 on: October 24, 2017, 12:36:17 pm »
yes i forwarded the port 1500 to my ip address

can you open the server program and forward port something to your ip address and check if it works on canyouseeme?

shs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #152 on: October 24, 2017, 12:38:42 pm »
do i have to change something for firewall or something?

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6111
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #153 on: October 24, 2017, 12:52:50 pm »
do i have to change something for firewall or something?
When you started your server program for the first time you should have been asked by the firewall if you wanted to give it access for incoming connections.

You can check with allowed apps if your servera.exe is in the list with private network (assuming your network is private) is checked.

For me port 1500 works fine forwarding it.

shs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #154 on: October 24, 2017, 12:57:20 pm »
oh it private network is not checked, do i check for both private and public or just private

also how did you check that it works in the first image? is that an application or site?

shs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #155 on: October 24, 2017, 01:06:10 pm »
it's still not working :(

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6111
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #156 on: October 24, 2017, 01:13:02 pm »
oh it private network is not checked, do i check for both private and public or just private

also how did you check that it works in the first image? is that an application or site?
It depends. Sometimes the internal local network gets assigned as "public". It depends on what you answered the first time the network connection was made. Just check both private and public. It doesn't matter much. For testing you can also disable you firewall on your computer for a few moments.

When you run your server and bind it to 0.0.0.0 and port 1500 and press connect the server is listening. When you enter your external IP in http://canyouseeme.org/ or https://networkappers.com/tools/open-port-checker (and set the port on 1500 there) and press check your server will respond with the message that client 1 is connected. Because those sites directly close the connection again, your server says the connection is closed.

Are you sure you have one router to which your computer is connected?
What type and brand is your router?

shs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #157 on: October 24, 2017, 01:28:14 pm »
yes also i also hotspot my phone to see if it works but it's not working.
maybe there's something wrong with my program?
i don;t know what tyep and brand my router is

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6111
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #158 on: October 24, 2017, 01:31:48 pm »
i don;t know what tyep and brand my router is
Wait... you don't know what type and brand your router is???
Did you login the web-interface of your router and forward the port 1500 to your local IP??
(when loging in the web-interface you should see the brand all over)

Usually the brand and type of the router is printed on a sticker on the router itself.

For instance... if you have a NetComm NB3300 you can use the directions here:
https://portforward.com/netcomm/nb3300/

shs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #159 on: October 24, 2017, 01:34:52 pm »
wait i have to login the web interface of my router to forward the port?

i thought i just had to put port in the server program?

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6111
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #160 on: October 24, 2017, 01:36:49 pm »
wait i have to login the web interface of my router to forward the port?
i thought i just had to put port in the server program?
No, your program can't forward a port (due to security). Otherwise any virus could do that and open up your whole computer all ports for the internet.

You need to do this manually once on the router and only on the server side for INcoming connections. The clients don't have to do anything because they connect OUT on the internet.

shs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #161 on: October 24, 2017, 01:40:59 pm »
ohh okay can i do that without doing this?
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. Did you login the web-interface of your router and forward the port 1500 to your local IP??
  2. (when loging in the web-interface you should see the brand all over)

taazz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5368
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #162 on: October 24, 2017, 01:41:36 pm »
make sure that it works internaly 1st before forwarding the internet to the computer.

The server computer has at least two IPs 1) the ip on the network card and 2) the IP on loopback interface. You can view both by typing ipconfig in a command prompt. the Loopback IP is always 127.0.0.1 the other IP is your network IP and can be used to connect from other machines in the same network. So typing for example 192.168.1.2 instead of a name should connect to the server. Forget about the router at this point start your server application on the same machine make sure that you have telnet installed (if not google windows telnet install) and on a command prompt type telnet 127.0.0.1:1500 see if that connects or not.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2017, 01:47:54 pm by taazz »
Good judgement is the result of experience … Experience is the result of bad judgement.

OS : Windows 7 64 bit
Laz: Lazarus 1.4.4 FPC 2.6.4 i386-win32-win32/win64

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6111
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #163 on: October 24, 2017, 01:42:06 pm »
ohh okay can i do that without doing this?
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. Did you login the web-interface of your router and forward the port 1500 to your local IP??
  2. (when loging in the web-interface you should see the brand all over)
Nope.
In that case your server-program won't be accessible from the internet.

make sure that it works internaly 1st before forwarding the internet to the computer.
It already works internally.

shs

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
Re: can i make server?
« Reply #164 on: October 24, 2017, 01:57:12 pm »
is that the only way to make clients on local network to connect the server?

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018