* * *

Author Topic: Editor toolbar is installed or not?  (Read 647 times)

Milsa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« on: September 11, 2017, 03:44:42 pm »
I have Lazarus 1.8.0 RC3.

My Lazarus shows this information during start (2.png).

I discovered this on Lazarus site (1.png). Why missing procedure to install it?

I finded this page:
http://wiki.freepascal.org/New_IDE_features_since#editor_toolbar

I have editor toolbar in Code editor (3.png).

I don't understand it. I have or I haven't editor toolbar?

How can I install it or how can I forever remove this information (2.png)?


Handoko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1516
  • My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2017, 04:05:23 pm »
Looking at the 3.png, I believe your editor toolbar is already working.

I think it is a bug. I went to my package manager, I just found that it was not installed but I've already been using it since a year ago if I remember correctly. I tried to uninstall or install the package, it still here (can't be removed).

Editor toolbar is very useful. I put my frequent-used items there, no more looking for items on the main menu. I use Lazarus 1.6.4, I never had "Unable to load package" message.

JuhaManninen

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3086
  • I like bugs.
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2017, 04:06:53 pm »
I discovered this on Lazarus site (1.png). Why missing procedure to install it?
Oh! That must be removed from the "Tip of the day" section.

Quote
I finded this page:
http://wiki.freepascal.org/New_IDE_features_since#editor_toolbar
Apparently you did not find this:
 http://wiki.freepascal.org/Lazarus_1.8.0_release_notes#EditorToolbar

Quote
I don't understand it. I have or I haven't editor toolbar?
How can I install it or how can I forever remove this information (2.png)?
You have it. No worries.
The 2.png is shown because you still use local Lazarus configuration from an earlier version.
It should go away after rebuilding the IDE. If not, then remove it from "Install/Uninstall packages..." window.

JuhaManninen

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3086
  • I like bugs.
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2017, 04:10:07 pm »
I use Lazarus 1.6.4, I never had "Unable to load package" message.
He uses 1.8RC3. That makes the difference.

Handoko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1516
  • My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2017, 04:13:03 pm »
But why on my package manager, it is not installed but I've been using it for a long time?

Also, if I add-install that "editortoolbar 0.0" and rebuild my IDE and the remove it and rebuild again, the toolbar is still there?


Okay, I have just read the the wiki page, it is integrated in IDE. The package "editortoolbar 0.0" should be removed from the list.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2017, 04:15:32 pm by Handoko »

JuhaManninen

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3086
  • I like bugs.
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2017, 04:19:18 pm »
The package "editortoolbar 0.0" should be removed from the list.
Which list?
The package itself and all its references are already removed from Lazarus sources.

Handoko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1516
  • My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2017, 04:26:48 pm »
Lazarus main menu > Package > Install/uninstall Packages.

JuhaManninen

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3086
  • I like bugs.
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #7 on: September 11, 2017, 04:32:47 pm »
Lazarus main menu > Package > Install/uninstall Packages.
Yes but you wrote you use Lazarus 1.6.4.
The package is removed from 1.8.
If the IDE has created a dummy package because it was marked for installation in an old configuration, then I guess it can be ignored or removed manually.

Handoko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1516
  • My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2017, 04:34:26 pm »
Which file should I edit if I want to remove it manually?

JuhaManninen

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3086
  • I like bugs.
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2017, 04:48:42 pm »
Which file should I edit if I want to remove it manually?
So, which version of Lazarus do you have?
If you have 1.6.4, it still includes the package. When you install Lazarus 1.8, don't do it on top of the older version. Remove the old installation first.
If you already have Lazarus 1.8 and its "components" directory has the EditorToolbar, then just remove it. First make sure it is not installed obviously.
Local configuration has packagefiles.xml with a list of known packages but it really makes no difference in this case.

Handoko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1516
  • My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2017, 04:52:21 pm »
Okay, I will wait for the 1.8 stable version. If it won't be removed then I will try to manually edit packagefiles.xml. Thank you for the information.

Milsa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2017, 07:04:45 pm »
I try to repair.

I must to use Lazarus 1.8.0, because TDBGrid titles don't have translations in PO file.

I am waiting for stable version too.

Yes, my configuration is from 1.6.4. I am using ither colors in code editor.

JuhaManninen

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3086
  • I like bugs.
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2017, 07:26:23 pm »
I must to use Lazarus 1.8.0, because TDBGrid titles don't have translations in PO file.
Lazarus 1.8 is recommended now for everybody. The latest RC is surely better than 1.6.4.
Active users, including Handoko, should test the RC versions and try to find bugs. The idea is to whack as many bugs as possible before the release.

Handoko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1516
  • My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2017, 05:35:15 am »
I've just downloaded and tested Lazarus 1.8.0RC4. I wanted to keep using it, unfortunately the double key pressed issue still hasn't solved. I uninstalled and installed version 1.6.4.

Yes, the "editortoolbar 0.0" package has been removed from the list in version 1.8.0RC4.

JuhaManninen

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3086
  • I like bugs.
Re: Editor toolbar is installed or not?
« Reply #14 on: September 12, 2017, 10:33:49 am »
I've just downloaded and tested Lazarus 1.8.0RC4. I wanted to keep using it, unfortunately the double key pressed issue still hasn't solved. I uninstalled and installed version 1.6.4.
You mean this one + its related issues:
  https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=30863
It is not specific to Lazarus 1.8. It can be solved by configuring your Linux system's input method or whatever, see the numerous comments there for advice.
I have not see complaints about it for a long time which means it works for most people.
Lazarus 1.8 final will have no changes for the issue.
I personally use KDE and I don't have the problem here.

Quote
Yes, the "editortoolbar 0.0" package has been removed from the list in version 1.8.0RC4.
Yes it has. I told you!  :)
The release notes page for 1.8 tells the same.
  http://wiki.freepascal.org/Lazarus_1.8.0_release_notes
« Last Edit: September 13, 2017, 03:51:53 pm by JuhaManninen »

 

Recent

Get Lazarus at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads Open Hub project report for Lazarus