Recent

Author Topic: using filelistbox under win32  (Read 13278 times)

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5275
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: using filelistbox under win32
« Reply #30 on: August 21, 2017, 02:04:28 pm »
That (no files if all checkboxes are unchecked) is expected behaviour (as in: Delphi does it that way).

Now with my test suite, at runtime, select the 'c:\users\public\STEPBYSTEPFILETESTFOLDERS\' directory (click on the speedbutton withe the "folder icon". I disabled typing in that control, so we are guaranteed you select an existing directory).

Can you see the files?
If so, the we can conclude there is no error in TFileListBox, there must be an error in your program somewehere.

Bart

frederic

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: using filelistbox under win32
« Reply #31 on: August 21, 2017, 02:21:24 pm »
he bart

yes the files are visible now  !!!

but was  does this mean?

frederic

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6111
Re: using filelistbox under win32
« Reply #32 on: August 21, 2017, 02:27:19 pm »
yes the files are visible now  !!!
but was  does this mean?
It means something is wrong with your program if you don't see the files there.

Now... back to your opening post.

I cannot get TFileListBox working under Win32 ( now Lazarus 1.6.4).:

This is what I have done:

I' ve put a TFileListBox on the form and  I've added in the OnClick event of a button (leaving everything else in the default settings):

 FileListBox1.directory:= 'c:\users\public\STEPBYSTEPFILEFOLDERS';

I would expect the content of   'c:\users\public\STEPBYSTEPFILEFOLDERS  to be displayed in the TFileListBox, but it remains completely empty.
If you drop a TFileListBox on your form the ftNormal is checked in FileType.
So try this yourself exactly (again) (WITH A NEW CLEAN PROGRAM) and see if you see the files.

If you still don't see the files, please upload your test-program here.

Project > Publish project > Ok
(keep directory at $(TestDir)/publishedproject/)
Your files are at %temp%/publishedproject/
Zip these files and place it in a post here.

frederic

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: using filelistbox under win32
« Reply #33 on: August 21, 2017, 03:12:10 pm »
rvk ,was already doing that and saw the files were there


i found the mistake also,

what happened:
  during testing the mask was set in the click event and also removed again.( i am not sure which one was there before,obviously,the wrong one)
In de formcreate the mask setting was done : FileListBox1.mask:= '*.*'  and became "new" current setting

By eliminating  the last one the problem is solved



 



rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6111
Re: using filelistbox under win32
« Reply #34 on: August 21, 2017, 03:57:19 pm »
was already doing that and saw the files were there
i found the mistake also,
That's why it's always a good idea, with a problem, to go back to a simple clean program (which you can upload if the problem persists).
You even gave the steps to create such simple program but apparently didn't do this yourself  ;D
(otherwise your problem would have been solved days ago)

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5275
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: using filelistbox under win32
« Reply #35 on: August 21, 2017, 06:38:30 pm »
By eliminating  the last one the problem is solved

Good.

Happy coding!

Bart

frederic

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
Re: using filelistbox under win32
« Reply #36 on: August 21, 2017, 07:48:30 pm »
bart,  thanks for the your effort


Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. That's why it's always a good idea, with a problem, to go back to a simple clean program (which you can upload if the problem persists).
  2. You even gave the steps to create such simple program but apparently didn't do this yourself  ;D
  3. (otherwise your problem would have been solved days ago

rvk, i fully agree ,that is normally the way i operate
we should feel to old to learn from ones mistakes, good lesson!!
frederic
 

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018