* * *

Author Topic: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)  (Read 17492 times)

tianya

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #15 on: August 14, 2017, 04:50:56 pm »
good job,wish lazarus to be better

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4333
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #16 on: August 14, 2017, 05:38:02 pm »
it is the underestimated art of UNinstalling that is always the problem...The installer should uninstall (both previous and itself) . It doesn't..Must I get grumpy? Ask!
....

Well it is not all that simple. Based on windows (some may be valid for other OS...)

The ONLY registry entries are:
- pointer to uninstaller / entry in installed progs list
- file associations

Not sure, but afaik the inno un-installer removes those?

If you install into an empty folder, and then run the uninstaller afaik every file in that folder is removed.

app/user settings are usually not uninstalled (afaik that is a convention?). But the installer offers to remove them (if you can create a patch for the uninstaller, and add an option ... feel free)

----
I am not sure how the uninstaller behaves if you install a new version into an existing folder (excluding any files mentioned in the next section!)

----
In the following "ppu" is used as example for generated files. (*.ppu / *.o  / resources / ...)

On Linux those are in ~/.lazarus / so should be easier to remove. on win this may depend on user permissions to install folder...

----
The problem starts, when the IDE (by compiling) or the user (by editing/adding files in the install dir) creates file that the installer did not install (new ppu of packages).

Those  files were not installed. So they do not get uninstalled.

That is partly correct. If you created a new package of your own, and saved it in the install dir, (or if you moved your holiday pics into the install dir (by accident)) then those must not be uninstalled.
 
But if compiling an optional package (eg Cody) added ppu files, it would be nice, if those were uninstalled.

But to do this the uninstaller needs a list of all files that can be created that way, and that should be removed.
And that list should not be static. Since it can change from version to version.

So what would be needed is a script/app that generates this list, while the installer is build. (afaik inno db has support for adding such a list, once it exists)

----
And actually there should be 2 such lists.
1) for the uninstaller as above
2) for the installer.

As for (2).
Sometimes a file gets moved or removed.
If you install a new version of Lazarus the ppu of files that are no longer in place, should be removed.
This would avoid conflicts when updating without uninstalling.

So this list, contains the diff of all the ppu that the current version does NOT have/create, but that existed in the previous version(s) (eg any version since last/previous n.m.0 release)

------
patches welcome

mogenslarsen

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #17 on: August 14, 2017, 07:32:01 pm »
RC4 have fixed only a part of the bugs reported in https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=32097 ("Weird-looking IDE (esp. Object Inspector) and tiny icons on high-DPI displays with scaling=300%").
Need I report that as a new bugreport? Or should I somewhat revive the old one (which is marked as resolved)?
« Last Edit: August 14, 2017, 07:34:12 pm by mogenslarsen »

BeniBela

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 571
    • homepage
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #18 on: August 14, 2017, 07:54:59 pm »
I hope the Unity tray icon gets fixed in the next one

Ondrej Pokorny

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #19 on: August 14, 2017, 08:13:23 pm »
RC4 have fixed only a part of the bugs reported in https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=32097 ("Weird-looking IDE (esp. Object Inspector) and tiny icons on high-DPI displays with scaling=300%").
Need I report that as a new bugreport? Or should I somewhat revive the old one (which is marked as resolved)?

Please report separately, thanks.

JuhaManninen

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3086
  • I like bugs.
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #20 on: August 14, 2017, 11:33:21 pm »
I hope the Unity tray icon gets fixed in the next one
You write in the report: "I cannot reproduce it,..."
Sorry but how do you expect others to reproduce the problem if you cannot do it even yourself?

BeniBela

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 571
    • homepage
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #21 on: August 14, 2017, 11:46:42 pm »
I hope the Unity tray icon gets fixed in the next one
You write in the report: "I cannot reproduce it,..."
Sorry but how do you expect others to reproduce the problem if you cannot do it even yourself?

They do not need to reproduce it, just add a fifth parameter (nil)

jwdietrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 932
    • formatio reticularis
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #22 on: August 15, 2017, 08:22:07 am »
The Mac version is bundled with FPC 3.0.2 rather than with version 3.0.4. Is that intended?
function GetRandomNumber: integer; // xkcd.com
begin
  GetRandomNumber := 4; // chosen by fair dice roll. Guaranteed to be random.
end;

Lazarus 1.6.4 | FPC 3.0.2 | PPC, Intel, ARM | macOS, Windows, Linux

Bart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2718
    • Bart en Mariska's Webstek
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #23 on: August 15, 2017, 02:18:05 pm »
There is no 3.0.4RC1 for MacOSX.

Bart

mobilevil

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #24 on: August 16, 2017, 09:22:59 am »
edit: fixed. nevermind.

I thought 1.8 RC4 was broken but I was wrong. with 1.8 RC4, the FPC version is updated to 3.0.4 RC1, in which the fp-web package is updated to support routing.
to enable legacy routing to fix my stupid hello world FCGI applicaiton,  add this to the main program.

Application.LegacyRouting:=true;


I am pretty new here, I am not sure how should I create a bug report so let me write things down here first. It would be great if you guys can point me to the right driection like, is it a freepascal bug? or is it a lazarus bug? Pointer to run time library setup would also be great. Maybe I can try to fix this bug myself.

Seems fpWEB's CGI and Fast CGI are broken in RC4, but they are fine in RC3. Just simple hello world CGIs. Apache give server errors.

edit:tested with RC4 clean install in VMWARE

windows 7 pro 64 bit
Lazarus 1.80 RC4 64bit
apache 2.4 64 bit, httpd-2.4.27-x64-vc14.zip and
mod_fcgid-2.3.9a-2.4.x-x64-vc14.zip from https://www.apachehaus.net/

I have weblaz, lazwebextra installed(plus zeos, lazreport).
create a new CGI project, add a action, set it to default, and add a onrequest handler.
begin
  AResponse.Content:='hello cgi';
  Handled:=true
end;
compile with RC3, it runs. all good.
recompile with RC4 in a VM, it gives

The application encountered the following error:
Error: Not found
Stack trace:
$00000001000381D1
$0000000100037AC4
$000000010003824D
$000000010002F9A8
$000000010003029F
$000000010002F31F
$000000010003063F
$00000001000353B5
$00000001000016C2 line 11 of hellocgi.lpr
$00000001000016D6
$000000010000F643
$0000000100010141
$00000000775259BD
$000000007765A2E1

similarly, with a fast cgi app running in lazarus debug mode, it gives exception class 'EHTTPRoute' with message:Not found at address 10003B7E1. Seems debugger is not able to locate the source.

and btw, I have been trying to test with apache module, but so far I am only able to get things working with apache 2.2 32bit.

my apache's conf is pretty clean except i setup my CGI path and FastCGI module

ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ "C:/Checkout/testcgi/lib/x86_64-win64/"

LoadModule fastcgi_module "modules/mod_fastcgi.so"
<IfModule mod_fastcgi.c>
  <Directory "C:/Checkout/testfcgi/lib/x86_64-win64">
    #Order allow,deny
    #Allow from all
   Require all granted
  </Directory>
  FastCgiExternalServer "C:/Checkout/testfcgi/lib/x86_64-win64/testfcgi.exe" -host 127.0.0.1:9999 -idle-timeout 30 -flush
  #FastCgiServer "C:/Checkout/testfcgi/lib/x86_64-win64/testfcgi.exe" -idle-timeout 30
  ScriptAlias /testfcgi "C:/Checkout/testfcgi/lib/x86_64-win64/testfcgi.exe"
</IfModule>


« Last Edit: August 19, 2017, 12:30:44 pm by mobilevil »

BeniBela

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 571
    • homepage
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #25 on: August 18, 2017, 05:18:35 pm »
Something is wrong with the source editor drawing on gtk2/opensuse.

Sometimes I do something, but it is not displayed.

I have selected a block of text, deleted it, but it was still shown, till I scrolled somewhere else.

I have pressed end to jump to the end of the line, but nothing happened. Only after a pressing another key it showed, it actually had jumped there.


Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4333
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #26 on: August 18, 2017, 06:01:28 pm »
Did it work well in RC3?

If you start the IDE from a console (shell/terminal) are there any errors printed out?

In case: Did you recompile the IDE, what setting (specially -O# ?) did you use?

BeniBela

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 571
    • homepage
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #27 on: August 18, 2017, 07:23:28 pm »
Did it work well in RC3?

I do not know, I have a new computer :/

It worked with RC2 and xfce on the old computer



If you start the IDE from a console (shell/terminal) are there any errors printed out?

Code: [Select]
NOTE: Window with stalled focus found!, faking focus-out event

[USER] Invalid borders specified for theme pixmap:
        /usr/share/themes/Breeze/gtk-2.0/../assets/line-h.png,
borders don't fit within the image

TSourceEditCompletion.ccExecute nil


does not seem relevant


In case: Did you recompile the IDE, what setting (specially -O# ?) did you use?

I just used " make ". no -O it seems

and fpc 3.0.0



edit: I managed to get a screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/CVozNMv.png

Like a 50% chance to have it happen when pressing ctrl+alt+up in that function.

(quite complicated making screenshots. everything is always broken on my systems.  default print shortcut did not work. and additionally i had reassembled my keyboard and the print screen key ended up at the wrong place )
« Last Edit: August 18, 2017, 07:45:16 pm by BeniBela »

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4333
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #28 on: August 18, 2017, 09:41:20 pm »
With or without anchordocking?

And if with anchordocking, can you test without?

High DPI?

-------
Very unlikely to help, but you can also try to compile with
-dVerboseSynEditInvalidate

Then in the output look for 
Code: Pascal  [Select]
  1. CustomSynEdit.InvalidateTextLines .... FirstLine=11 LastLine=12 rect=....
  2.  

Where 11 would be the line in the window (0 or 1 based).

This is not the textline. the window always starts with line 1 on top (or 0)....

Then when you edit, the relevant lines should get an invalidate.
The rect should give the area in pixels.

nurettin

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 4 of 1.8 (includes RC1 of fpc 3.0.4)
« Reply #29 on: August 19, 2017, 01:54:02 pm »
I tried lazarus 18 rc4 on linux mint using the amd64 deb files provided on sourceforge, the property editor doesn't work. I can't set any properties and the existing properties are not shown.

This happens with and without anchordockingdsgn Everything worked well in rc3,
https://image.ibb.co/neXkbk/Screenshot_from_2017_08_19_14_57_11.png

Edit: rebuilt 18rc4 from tar.gz sources using fpc 3.03, everything works fine. deb is somehow broken.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2017, 07:32:39 pm by nurettin »

 

Recent

Get Lazarus at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads Open Hub project report for Lazarus