Recent

Author Topic: TAChart newbie question - Bottom axis reverts to data based scaling  (Read 2654 times)

jbmckim

I'm trying to hard code a display range for a data set.  I was able to set the Left (i.e. y) scale with:

Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. Chart1.AxisList[0].Range.Max := 2500;
  2.   Chart1.AxisList[0].Range.Min := 2000;  

I tried something analogous (to me at least) for the Bottom (x) scale:

Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1.   Chart1.AxisList[1].Range.Max := 400;
  2.   Chart1.AxisList[1].Range.Min := 100;  

The resulting form designer display is in the Grid display (.jpg) attachment.  Clearly the Left marks are behaving differently than the bottom marks but as in the subject, I'm a newbie and have no idea why that might be.

The bottom and left axis values from the Object Inspector are also attached.

Thanks.

wp

For the left axis, you do not provide values for Range.Max and Range.Min, you only set UseMax and UseMin to true.

BTW: For the bottom axis, you specify Range.max and Range.Min in the wrong order. It seems to be working here, but there are other cases, when this will lead to an error. Always enter these data such that Max > Min. If it was your intention to change the axis direction (to have the larger value at the left) use the axis property "Inverted".

Another remark: Your code is more readable if you use the identifiers Chart1.LeftAxis and Chart1.BottomAxis instead of Chart1.AxisList[0] and Chart1.AxisList[1]. The latter even is risky because you can drag the BottomAxis above the LeftAxis in the object inspector tree, or because you can change the Alignment of an axis.

jbmckim

Great points all.  Thanks.  I put them in and they tested good but after doing so found there's something else that is at play. 

On the left axis, the data is contained with the sizes set in the code.  (i.e between 2000 and 2500).