Recent

Author Topic: Free Pascal and others...  (Read 13930 times)

dracon

Free Pascal and others...
« on: May 11, 2017, 09:52:57 am »
Hello to all.

I am new to the Wirthian family of programming languages. So, I would like to ask a few questions.

1) is it true that Pascal has no modules, no type safety for dynamic records, no garbage collection?
2) is Modula-2 dead? If not, why it is not more popular, since (in theory) is more powerful than Pascal?
3) is it true that Component Pascal is the most active dialect of Oberon(s) ?
4) is it true that Oberon-07/11 is mainly for embedded systems?
and
5) what is, in gross terms, the relation --applications, features and generality wise-- amongst FreePascal, Modula-2, Component Pascal ?

I would like to thank, in advance, anyone which is going to contribute to this thread.

Blestan

Re: Free Pascal and others...
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2017, 10:06:14 am »
HI!
this is forum is not some kind of sect or cult of the followers of Niklaus Wirth :)))
this is a forum about lazarus - a ide build with fpc
we discuss real problems of real programing for real applications build with fpc/lazarus .
so for you questions about oberon/modu;a etc please  refer to theire respctive forum.
so  some answers to to some of your questions:
i do not know what module is??? object, class, interface, component, unit?
about the safety of fpc please not that it can be safe as the programer know or wish to make it safe...
several garbage collection methods exists but you have to choose the best for approach your application

regards,
Tabakov
« Last Edit: May 11, 2017, 10:09:01 am by Blestan »
Speak postscript or die!
Translate to pdf and live!

howardpc

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2017, 10:41:14 am »
1) Object Pascal as in FPC and Delphi (not Wirth's original Pascal) has modules, known as units.