Recent

Author Topic: Need reports with Lazarus  (Read 16034 times)

Jacob21

Need reports with Lazarus
« on: April 20, 2017, 01:42:50 pm »
Hi, I'm trying to get ANY banded report package installed into my recently installed Lazarus 1.6.4 (FPC 3.0.2, SVC 5 4 278).
  I am new to Lazarus but have many years used PolyPascal, TurboPascal and Delphi6, with DM Reportbuilder.
 I have tried the latest Fortes323 and Fortes424 (FortesReport4) packages but they will not compile using "Install Packages", errors include "Illegal Type conversions" and others.
Can anyone point to a working reporting package or indicate where my problems might be overcome.

marcov

• Administrator
  • FPC developer.
Re: Need reports with Lazarus
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 03:23:44 pm »
lazreport comes with lazarus, being based on an older opensourced free/fastreport. That summarizes my experience on reports though.

Graeme

• Graeme on the web
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2017, 04:05:13 pm »
During the next 4-5 weeks Free Pascal will get its very own reporting engine (fpReport) - targeted at replacing LazReport. I wrote it from the ground up and has NO dependencies on GUI toolkit libraries (unlike all other reporting engines), so it will work very well in a headless server environment too. It has been used in a closed commercial environment for a couple months now. Even thought it will be released into FPC Trunk, the reporting code is very well tested against FPC 2.6.4 and FPC 3.0.2 too. So if you don't use FPC Trunk (not generally recommended), you can safely copy the fpReport directory to a external directory and use it with a stable FPC release.

I know it's not ideal news (fpReport not being instantly available), but if you can wait a little while, it will be well worth it.
--
fpGUI Toolkit - a cross-platform GUI toolkit using Free Pascal
http://fpgui.sourceforge.net/

Handoko

• My goal: build my own game engine using Lazarus
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 05:08:55 pm »
+1