Author Topic: [Solved] Why cannot type to DBEdit  (Read 301 times)

drschwarcz

[Solved] Why cannot type to DBEdit
« on: March 03, 2017, 10:19:22 am »
Hi there!

I just started to learn to Database handling and I try to use "Data Controls" items.

Where I'm now: Can create a Database and can build connection. Data writing (from Code) and reading are successful (be published in Controls).

And we arrived to my trouble: Why cannot type anything to Controls, for example, to DBEdit?

My easy program in attached (without embed Firebird).

Please, be lenient with me, I'm a beginner.  :)  O:-)

I tried look for the answer in Forum, but couldn't find. THX for your help in advance.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2017, 04:10:02 pm by drschwarcz »
Lazarus 1.6.4 @ Windows 10 x64

Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.

Einstein, Albert :) ;)

rvk

Re: Why cannot type to DBEdit
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2017, 10:50:38 am »
Ok, to help you on your way a bit.... you can do the following.

1) You've connected a datasource to your SQLQuery. You should only do that if you want to do a master/detail form. In this case you connect the same datasource which is already connected to the SQLQuery itself. That can't work and you'll get an exception. So remove the datasource from SQLQuery in the Object inspector. (you'll see that SQLQuery is kept in "DataSource")

2) Add the following lines to open the Query when activating the form.
Code: Pascal  [Select]
  1.     SQLQuery.SQL.Text := 'select * from Adatok';
  2.     SQLQuery.Open;

3) And last... it would help you a lot to know if your dataset is in Insert/Edit/Browse mode. You can drop a TDBNavigator on the form (first component in the Data Controls-tab). Set the Datasource to "DataSource" and you get a navigator with which you can add and insert records.