Recent

Author Topic: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6  (Read 11161 times)

joviali

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« on: December 21, 2016, 12:25:24 pm »
Good, to have if someone can help me. I normally program in Delphi and have been asked to develop software on Windows CE 5.0 and 6.0 operating systems. I tried to see it with Lazarus as follows:
I have installed:
 Lazarus-1.6.2-fpc-3.0.0-win32.exe.
              Lazarus-1.6.2-fpc-3.0.0-cross-arm-wince-win32.exe
Then when compiling I touch the following options:
- LCL WidgetType = wince
- -Target OS (-T) = WinCE
- Target CPU family (-P) = arm
- Linking - generate debugging info for GDB = Unchecked
- And I have marked - Xs
- In the options the compile executable I have put C: \ lazarus \ fpc \ 3.0.0 \ bin \ i386-win32 \ ppcrossarm.exe
The executable if I test it with a professional wm 6.5 emulator works for me.
The problem I have is that the same executable in the emulator for Windows CE 5 does not work, in addition in the devices that I have that are a scorpio datalogic it happens to me the same, I get the following message in both: is not a valid Windows ce application .

I've been looking at the wiki but I do not get anything clear. I have tried compiling with the following bat:
PATH = c: \ lazarus \ fpc \ 3.0.0 \ bin \ i386-win32; c: \ lazarus \ fpc \ 3.0.0 \ bin \ arm-wince
Make clean lcl LCL_PLATFORM = wince PP = ppcrossarm.exe CPU_TARGET = arm OS_TARGET = wince
Pause

I have seen the theme of the aygshell.dll library that may have these devices has a version of Windows CE bare., But neither.

The truth is I do not know what to see, I have been looking for forum and there is no way.

Thanks in advance

avra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2514
    • Additional info
Re: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2016, 01:39:11 am »
ct2laz - Conversion between Lazarus and CodeTyphon
bithelpers - Bit manipulation for standard types
pasettimino - Siemens S7 PLC lib

LacaK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 691
Re: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2016, 09:42:32 am »
I use Lazarus for developing applications for WinCE 5 and 6.
I use FPC 2.6.4 (not 3.0.0) and it works for me (I use Motorola/Symbol mobile terminal devices)
I use same setting as you, except:
Quote
- In the options the compile executable I have put C: \ lazarus \ fpc \ 3.0.0 \ bin \ i386-win32 \ ppcrossarm.exe
I do not touch this settings. I set only WidgetSet, Target OS and Target CPU

joviali

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2016, 05:06:52 pm »
Thank you .
 At the end with the current compiling works on windows-c6, what was missing was the aygshell.dll library.
 I tried with the FPC version 2.6.4 With result:
Windows ce 6 with libreria aygshell.dll-> ok
Window ce 5 does not work error: "probema is not a valid application."

What can i try?

Thank you .

zmoky

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2017, 07:38:52 pm »
I am writing to all the threads that I read and related to my issue, with the working solution

Compiling sample app with a button for closing it, using the following setup:

Target OS: WinCE
Target CPU family: arm
Target processor: Default
LCLWidgetType:=wince

Installed sourceforge Lazarus in this order:
    - lazarus-1.6.2-fpc-3.0.0-win32.exe
    - lazarus-1.6.2-fpc-3.0.0-cross-arm-wince-win32.exe

Tested on hardware:
    - Symbol MC2180 Windows CE 6.0 Core with Marvell PXA 320 CPU
    - Intermec Windows Embedded Handheld 6.5 Classic ( Windows CE 5.2.29354 ) with ARM Cortex-A8 OMAP3 processor

It worked on the WinCE 5.2.x but did not reacted in any way when I stared the app on the Win CE 6.0 Core.

After I copied the aygshell.dll file in the same dir with the app it started to work also on Windows CE 6.0 ( MC2180 ).

I used the http://hpcmonex.net/izemize.htm aygshell collection, file 12 ( size: 22,016 bytes ).

For any questions related to dev in the os and hw above you can contact me on my gmail id: zmooky.

I send my thanks to the fpc team for the great work that they did !

trom

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2017, 02:58:05 pm »
Hello Boys and Girls ...

I DEV small software on

MOTOROLA MC3190
Windows mobile 6.1
CE OS 5.2.20963

since Lazarus 1.6.4 my software doesn't work anymore

I explain :
I can compile without problem, but when i launch the soft on the device the programm crashed and closed itself(see attached file)

But with lazarus 1.6.2 all work fine

I don't know if someone can confirm or resolve this error and i don't know is a real BUG ?

Best regards

Trom

LacaK

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 691
Re: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2017, 01:25:56 pm »
Lazarus 1.6.2 uses FPC 3.0.0 ,
Lazarus 1.6.4 uses FPC 3.0.2

In log you attached is reported also error: "Cannot use find on unsorted list"

IIRC there was change in TStringList.Find method which requires now sorted list.
So check your application if you use somewhere Find method on TStringList ...
(look also at property SortStyle)

HermanR

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2017, 01:51:36 pm »
My project in 1.4 also doesn't work with 1.6.4.
gives error: "Cannot use find on unsorted list"
I made a new project, for Win32 and WinCE (settings as given bij smoky and joviali)
Only a form, runs on Windows 10 Pro but gives the same error on WinCE.

Where should I look for the TStringlist?

felipemdc

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3538
Re: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2017, 07:39:59 am »
Looks like a bug in Lazarus, please report in the BTS. I guess something changed in Lazarus between 1.6.2 and 1.6.4 breaking compatibility.

To get to the root cause the simplest way (although very time consuming) is a binary search among the many revisions of lazarus trunk between 1.6.2 and 1.6.4 to figure out what revision broke WinCE.

Edit: There is already a bug in BTS here: https://mantis.freepascal.org/view.php?id=31763
« Last Edit: May 22, 2017, 07:54:59 am by felipemdc »

zeljko

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1594
    • http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/User:Zeljan
Re: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2017, 09:59:02 am »
My project in 1.4 also doesn't work with 1.6.4.
gives error: "Cannot use find on unsorted list"
I made a new project, for Win32 and WinCE (settings as given bij smoky and joviali)
Only a form, runs on Windows 10 Pro but gives the same error on WinCE.

Where should I look for the TStringlist?

It's fpc-3.0 bugfix.  Error is pretty clear .... look into fpc sources

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14204
  • Probably until I exterminate Putin.
Re: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2017, 10:57:39 am »
It's fpc-3.0 bugfix.  Error is pretty clear .... look into fpc sources
Actually it was not a bug but is now implemented as a feature. Delphi does not have this feature.
Behavior: Find needs a sorted list. Locate does not. The new behavior in FPC, but NOT in Delphi is that FPC falls back to locate when you use find on an unsorted list. Delphi still refuses it as an error.

So it is a feature and if you need to maintain the same code for Delphi be aware of that.

OTOH Delphi does not compile for WINCE anyway, afaik.

For OP:
RTFM applies here...... >:D <not grumpy but serious> If the manual for your version says find expects a sorted list then why do you ask?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2017, 11:58:51 am by Thaddy »
Specialize a type, not a var.

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14204
  • Probably until I exterminate Putin.
Re: Windows CE 5.0 or Windows CE 6
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2017, 12:01:16 pm »
Can we make a sticky that we have an automated helpdesk called manuals?

Add that the manuals are version dependent. <sigh>
Specialize a type, not a var.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018