* * *

Author Topic: [SOLVED] Tab order skips  (Read 1553 times)

WickedDum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
[SOLVED] Tab order skips
« on: November 14, 2016, 12:46:20 am »
My tab key is not functioning correctly?   :D

I have attached a picture (TabOrderReOrdered.jpg) of the View->Tab Order list ordered by "Sort tab orders of all child controls of "Form1" by their positions?."  I interpret this to be the proper flow order of the tabs.  But it isn't working...   :(

I also attached a picture (TabOrder.jpg) of the way the screen is reacting when I press the Tab key.  The green numbers identify the current incorrect flow; the blue numbers show the desired flow of the tab stops.

As suggested in other posts, I have checked the properties of each Edit Control tab to ensure the TabOrder is correct; the TabStop is True; and the Visible is True.

Where else should I look?

Thanks!

« Last Edit: November 16, 2016, 07:25:55 pm by WickedDum »
Practice Safe Computing!!

Intel i5-4460K @ 3.2GHz | Win8.1 64-bit | FPC: v3.0 | Lazarus:  v1.6.0

Blaazen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2385
  • POKE 54296,15
    • Eye-Candy Controls
Re: Tab order skips
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2016, 01:07:27 am »
Maybe ReadOnly property of some TEdit is True? BTW, you are on WIndows?
Lazarus 1.9.0 r55743 FPC 3.0.2 x86_64-linux-qt Chakra, Qt 4.8.7, Plasma 5.9.4
Lazarus 1.6.4 r54278 FPC 3.0.2 i386-win32-win32/win64 Wine 2.4

Try Eye-Candy Controls: https://sourceforge.net/projects/eccontrols/files/

lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1991
Re: Tab order skips
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2016, 01:40:23 am »
Quote
Where else should I look?

attach the form with no code so we can test it.

WickedDum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
Re: Tab order skips
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2016, 03:34:12 am »
Thanks for your responses!!

When Blaazen said to check the ReadOnly property, I realized I hadn't mentioned it in the previous post.  So I re-checked them...

And then I decided to once again go through the other Tab properties.  Eureka!!  I noticed that the Shipping Address field was assigned #19 (see OI ShAddr TabOrder.jpg) although the TabOrderofForm1.jpg and TabOrderReOrdered.jpg both have it set at #15.  Did somebody say BUG?

Whew!  Glad I saw it. 

@lainz - I can still provide the exe if you want it.

@Blaazen - Check out my signature.  It says I am running WIN8.1 64bit.   ;)

Thank you, gentlemen, for your time and efforts on my behalf!!
Practice Safe Computing!!

Intel i5-4460K @ 3.2GHz | Win8.1 64-bit | FPC: v3.0 | Lazarus:  v1.6.0

lainz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1991
Re: Tab order skips
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2016, 04:43:36 pm »
Quote
And then I decided to once again go through the other Tab properties.  Eureka!!  I noticed that the Shipping Address field was assigned #19 (see OI ShAddr TabOrder.jpg) although the TabOrderofForm1.jpg and TabOrderReOrdered.jpg both have it set at #15.  Did somebody say BUG?

Yes sometimes happens that you think it's everything ok so discard the most obvious error  ::) And just that is the error.

Quote
@lainz - I can still provide the exe if you want it.

Don't worry.

WickedDum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 211
Re: [SOLVED] Tab order skips
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2016, 07:29:28 pm »
Of course, it's always the last place you look!

I just figured the View->Tab Order list would be taken, and updated, from the TabOrder properties of the different fields.

Thanks for the info!
Practice Safe Computing!!

Intel i5-4460K @ 3.2GHz | Win8.1 64-bit | FPC: v3.0 | Lazarus:  v1.6.0

 

Recent

Get Lazarus at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads Open Hub project report for Lazarus