Recent

Author Topic: Detect if application is running under the IDE [SOLVED]  (Read 13360 times)

totya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Detect if application is running under the IDE [SOLVED]
« on: October 01, 2016, 01:53:36 pm »
Hi!

I'd like to know, my app is running from IDE or not. For example:

Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. If <MyAppRunningFromIDE> then
  2. begin
  3. //
  4. end;
  5.  
« Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 04:57:33 pm by totya »

madref

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 954
  • ..... A day not Laughed is a day wasted !!
    • Nursing With Humour
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2016, 02:53:07 pm »
Just make it easier for your self
I use a Boolean for that:
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. if Design = True then // You run from ide
  2. ....
  3. else // you run from the finished app.
You treat a disease, you win, you lose.
You treat a person and I guarantee you, you win, no matter the outcome.

Lazarus 3.99 (rev main_3_99-649-ge13451a5ab) FPC 3.3.1 x86_64-darwin-cocoa
Mac OS X Monterey

totya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2016, 03:01:08 pm »
Just make it easier for your self
I use a Boolean for that:
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. if Design = True then // You run from ide
  2. ....
  3. else // you run from the finished app.

Hi!

Thanks for this joke, but my question is real.

wp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11923
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2016, 04:03:19 pm »
In the "Project options" / "Compiler Options" / "Compiler commands" you can find the possibility to execute commands before and after running a project. If you somehow modify the system before and undo this change after the project is running, and if you look for this change from the project you could tell whether the IDE is running or not. A simple possiblity, for example, would be to create some kind of file by the "Execute before ... command" and erase it in the "Execute after ... command"; if your project finds this file it could assume that the IDE is running because if the project is started outside the IDE the file would not be there.

totya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2016, 04:15:12 pm »
Hi!

Thanks for this answer, but I use that way already long time ago.

But I'd like a "easier/cleaner" method. I thinked for example is there any variable to sign, IDE is running or not.

ps: rev 5235 under testing... :)

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6171
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2016, 04:17:18 pm »
You could try to detect if a Lazarus.exe process is present in memory. But that doesn't necessarily mean you program is run in the IDE (it could still be started outside).

Delphi has a DebugHook variable to determine if it was started with the debugger. In which case you can be fairly sure your program is run from the IDE. In Lazarus you can do it like this:
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. function IsDebuggerPresent(): integer stdcall; external 'kernel32.dll';
  2.  
  3. procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
  4. begin
  5.   if (IsDebuggerPresent > 0) then
  6.     ShowMessage('Debugger is present');
  7. end;
But do note... if you run your program in the IDE without the debugger ("Run>Run without Debugging", it won't trigger this message.

This is a Windows-only solution until somebody writes a compatible DebugHook-function cross-platform.

Fungus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2016, 04:53:35 pm »
In Lazarus select menu Run->Run parameters... In the section "Command line parameters (bla bla)..." enter "-lazarus_ide" and click OK. Now you can use the following function to check if run from the IDE in debugging mode:

Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. Function RunningFromIDE: Boolean;
  2. Var I: Integer;
  3. Begin
  4. {$IFDEF DEBUG}
  5.   For I:= 1 To ParamCount Do If ParamStr(I) = '-lazarus_ide' Then Begin
  6.     Result:= True;
  7.     Exit;
  8.   End;
  9. {$ENDIF}
  10.   Result:= False;
  11. End;
  12.  

For increased performance you should store the result in a global variable :-)

totya

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 720
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2016, 04:56:55 pm »
Hi!

Thanks for the real answer guys, thanks to rvk master, and thanks to Fungus!

ASerge

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2250
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2016, 06:36:19 pm »
...if you run your program in the IDE without the debugger ("Run>Run without Debugging", it won't trigger this message.
This item is not on the menu (Lazarus 1.6, last stable version). Also not found on Options/Editor/IDE Key Mappings.

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6171
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2016, 06:43:36 pm »
...if you run your program in the IDE without the debugger ("Run>Run without Debugging", it won't trigger this message.
This item is not on the menu (Lazarus 1.6, last stable version).
That's because it's a new option in the newest (not released yet) version.

Normally, when you run a program in the IDE, it will run under the debugger (GDB). Since Lazarus 1.7+ there is an option "Run>Run without Debugger" in which case the program is run directly as separate process without the debugger (and without debugging possibilities).

So, if you're on 1.6, the code I showed will certainly be always correct in finding out if you're running under the IDE. If you switch to Lazarus 1.6.2 (not released yet) it will detect if you're running with the debugger on (which is almost always the case). Only in rare situations will you use the option "Run without Debugger".
« Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 06:45:15 pm by rvk »

ASerge

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2250
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2016, 08:37:41 pm »
If you switch to Lazarus 1.6.2 (not released yet) it will detect if you're running with the debugger on (which is almost always the case). Only in rare situations will you use the option "Run without Debugger".
In that case (on Windows):
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. program Project1;
  2.  
  3. uses Windows, JwaTlHelp32;
  4.  
  5. function GetParentProcessName: string;
  6. var
  7.   Snap: THandle;
  8.   SelfId: DWORD;
  9.   ParentId: DWORD;
  10.   ProcInfo: TProcessEntry32;
  11. begin
  12.   Result := '';
  13.   SelfId := GetCurrentProcessId;
  14.   ParentId := 0;
  15.   Snap := CreateToolhelp32Snapshot(TH32CS_SNAPPROCESS, 0);
  16.   if Snap = INVALID_HANDLE_VALUE then
  17.     Exit;
  18.   try
  19.     ProcInfo.dwSize := SizeOf(ProcInfo);
  20.     if Process32First(Snap, ProcInfo) then
  21.     repeat
  22.       if ProcInfo.th32ProcessID = SelfId then
  23.       begin
  24.         ParentId := ProcInfo.th32ParentProcessID;
  25.         Break;
  26.       end;
  27.     until not Process32Next(Snap, ProcInfo);
  28.     if ParentId <> 0 then
  29.     begin
  30.       Process32First(Snap, ProcInfo);
  31.       repeat
  32.         if ProcInfo.th32ProcessID = ParentId then
  33.         begin
  34.           Result := ProcInfo.szExeFile;
  35.           Break;
  36.         end;
  37.       until not Process32Next(Snap, ProcInfo);
  38.     end;
  39.   finally
  40.     CloseHandle(Snap);
  41.   end;
  42. end;
  43.  
  44. function IsDebuggerPresent: BOOL; stdcall; external kernel32;
  45.  
  46. function IsFromIDE: Boolean;
  47. begin
  48.   Result := IsDebuggerPresent or
  49.     (LowerCase(GetParentProcessName) = 'lazarus.exe');
  50. end;
  51.  
  52. begin
  53.   if IsFromIDE then
  54.     MessageBox(0, 'Start from IDE!', 'Info', MB_ICONEXCLAMATION)
  55.   else
  56.     MessageBox(0, 'Normal start', 'Info', MB_ICONINFORMATION);
  57. end.

Paulo França Lacerda

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • BlaisePoint Informática
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE [SOLVED]
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2016, 08:56:30 pm »
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. function IsOnIDE :Boolean;
  2. begin
  3.   Result := LowerCase(ExtractFileName(ParamStr(0))) = 'lazarus.exe';
  4. end;
Lazarus 1.6.0.4 on FreePascal 3.0
Windows 7 32-bit

Fungus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE [SOLVED]
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2016, 08:58:09 pm »
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. function IsOnIDE :Boolean;
  2. begin
  3.   Result := LowerCase(ExtractFileName(ParamStr(0))) = 'lazarus.exe';
  4. end;

Cannot work.

Having Lazarus add an argument to the command line is simple and portable :-)

Paulo França Lacerda

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • BlaisePoint Informática
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE [SOLVED]
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2016, 09:00:22 pm »
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. function IsOnIDE :Boolean;
  2. begin
  3.   Result := LowerCase(ExtractFileName(ParamStr(0))) = 'lazarus.exe';
  4. end;

Cannot work.

Why not? It works for me.
Lazarus 1.6.0.4 on FreePascal 3.0
Windows 7 32-bit

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6171
Re: Detect if application is running under the IDE [SOLVED]
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2016, 09:10:51 pm »
Code: Pascal  [Select][+][-]
  1. function IsOnIDE :Boolean;
  2. begin
  3.   Result := LowerCase(ExtractFileName(ParamStr(0))) = 'lazarus.exe';
  4. end;
Have you tried running this yourself? It won't work. ExtractFileName(ParamStr(0)) returns your own project name. Even if you run it within Lazarus. Try it yourself. Please note... this is not for the lazarus.exe itself but for detecting if your own project is started from the IDE of Lazarus.

If you say it works you have created a project with the name lazarus yourself. Try creating a project with the name project1.

If you switch to Lazarus 1.6.2 (not released yet) it will detect if you're running with the debugger on (which is almost always the case). Only in rare situations will you use the option "Run without Debugger".
In that case (on Windows):
Yes, that will work. Even when running the option "Run without Debugger". Works in trunk in both 32 and 64bit and with and without Run without Debugger. (Although the main IDE has to be named lazarus.exe but that's obvious.)

Having Lazarus add an argument to the command line is simple and portable :-)
Yes, but you have to remember to put that in all your projects. It is cross-platform though.

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018