Recent

Author Topic: fpcup  (Read 8548 times)

elidorio

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 295
fpcup
« on: June 23, 2016, 05:46:37 pm »
Hello,

I want to compile a version of Lazaro I downloaded by fpcup for win32.
I need to compile it for Windows 8.1 x 64, how to proceed?
Lazarus 1.4.4 | FPC 2.6.4 | Windows / Linux Debian

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14373
  • Sensorship about opinions does not belong here.
Re: fpcup
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2016, 08:29:05 pm »
You don't need to compile fpcup. It comes with binaries for X86_64-win64.
Simply download a new version from https://github.com/LongDirtyAnimAlf/Reiniero-fpcup
Then go to the proper x86_64 directory under bin and run it.It will build you an x86_64-win64 native version of FPC and so you wish Lazarus as well,'

Plz read the docs first!
Object Pascal programmers should get rid of their "component fetish" especially with the non-visuals.

argb32

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • Pascal IDE based on IntelliJ platform
Re: fpcup
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2016, 11:53:24 pm »
Does it work for you?
For me it doesn't neither on Linux 64-bit nor on Win7 64-bit:
http://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/topic,32860.0.html

stocki

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 144
Re: fpcup
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2016, 05:11:10 pm »
@echo on

:: Build a fresh FPC+LAZ from SVN everyday
::    Based on http://www.getlazarus.org/

::prerequisites
:: 1. Internet connection
:: 2. Installed SVN (e.g. Tortoise SVN) from http://tortoisesvn.net/
:: 3. Installed bootstrap compiler FPC 3.0.0 at %BASE%\bootstrap from e.g. ftp://wiki.freepascal.org/pub/fpc/dist/3.0.0/i386-win32/fpc-3.0.0.i386-win32.exe


set BASE=c:\FpDev
set BOOTSTRAP=%BASE%\bootstrap\bin\i386-win32
set NEWCOMPILER=%BASE%\fpc\bin\i386-win32

::---SVN---

cd %BASE%
svn co http://svn.freepascal.org/svn/fpc/trunk fpc
if errorlevel 1 goto failed
svn co http://svn.freepascal.org/svn/lazarus/trunk lazarus
if errorlevel 1 goto failed

pause

::---FPC---

cd %BASE%
cd fpc
::%BOOTSTRAP%\make clean
%BOOTSTRAP%\make all
if errorlevel 1 goto failed

::---Make install---
%BOOTSTRAP%\make install INSTALL_PREFIX=%BASE%\fpc
if errorlevel 1 goto failed

::---FPC Win64---
%BOOTSTRAP%\make crossinstall CPU_TARGET=x86_64 OS_TARGET=win64 INSTALL_PREFIX=%BASE%\fpc
if errorlevel 1 goto failed

::---FPC Lin32---
%BOOTSTRAP%\make crossinstall CPU_TARGET=i386   OS_TARGET=linux INSTALL_PREFIX=%BASE%\fpc
if errorlevel 1 goto failed

::---Make cfg---
cd %NEWCOMPILER%
fpcmkcfg -d basepath=%BASE%\fpc -o .\fpc.cfg
if errorlevel 1 goto failed

cd %BASE%
set PATH=%NEWCOMPILER%;%PATH%
::fpc -iV

::---Lazarus---

cd %BASE%
cd lazarus
::%BOOTSTRAP%\make clean
%BOOTSTRAP%\make all
::%BOOTSTRAP%\make bigide OPT="-dWIN9XPLATFORM -gl -gw"
if errorlevel 1 goto failed

call %BASE%\lazarus\startlazarus.exe

::---end---

goto exit

:failed
color 0C
echo ERROR!!!

:exit

pause


Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14373
  • Sensorship about opinions does not belong here.
Re: fpcup
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2016, 05:18:24 pm »
Does it work for you?
For me it doesn't neither on Linux 64-bit nor on Win7 64-bit:
http://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/topic,32860.0.html

Well. That got fixed.
You are using an out of date version of fpcup.
Always check if there is a newer version.
It has a limited sell-by date by its very nature.
I always simply download a new fpcup every time I use fpcup to build fpc. (But that is not very often, normally I use my own scripts)
Object Pascal programmers should get rid of their "component fetish" especially with the non-visuals.

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14373
  • Sensorship about opinions does not belong here.
Re: fpcup
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2016, 05:24:13 pm »
@Stocki
There are many platforms that do not have a stock 3.0.0 available e.g. many linux versions including Ubuntu and Debian. So you need to allow for an intermediate 3.0.0 compiler to be build if there is only a version 2.6.x available to eventually bootstrap trunk.
FPCUP does that for you in the more recent versions. your script doesn't, probably because it is also windows only..

Thing with fpcup is that you always need to have a very recent version.
Object Pascal programmers should get rid of their "component fetish" especially with the non-visuals.

DonAlfredo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1739
Re: fpcup
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2016, 05:51:14 pm »
Fpc(laz)up binaries have just been updates.
There were some reported problems that could not be reproduced on my system.
So, it could be that my local repo was not in sync with the remote.
It is now.

@all
As Thaddy mentioned, there are many ways to install fpc and Lazarus.
Fpc(laz)up is the legacy of BigChimp that I am trying to maintain.
It is one of your tools. Choose the one that fits your needs.

Reports about a non-working fpc(laz)up remain very welcome !
But please supply some verbose output. That makes bug-hunting a bit easier.

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14373
  • Sensorship about opinions does not belong here.
Re: fpcup
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2016, 07:14:59 pm »
@DonAlfredo:
The guy is smiling to you from the sky.

FPCUP is a very good option to install. It never failed me (wel just once and that got fixed ;) )Keep up the good work.
On e.g. Raspberry Pi 3 fpcup is almost the only way to install trunk without thinking :) Which happens to be a pass-time many people on forums don't like :) :P
Object Pascal programmers should get rid of their "component fetish" especially with the non-visuals.

DonAlfredo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1739
Re: fpcup
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2016, 09:06:51 pm »
@Thaddy
You're welcome !

argb32

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • Pascal IDE based on IntelliJ platform
Re: fpcup
« Reply #9 on: June 24, 2016, 11:47:44 pm »
Well. That got fixed.
You are using an out of date version of fpcup.

I'm using a fresh downloaded binary from here:
https://github.com/LongDirtyAnimAlf/Reiniero-fpcup/blob/master/bin/x86_64-linux/fpcup_linux_x64

It prints:
Version: based on commit fpcup001 (20150210)
Build date: 2016/06/24 17:39:55

Is it an old version?
It's steel doesn't work for me.

DonAlfredo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1739
Re: fpcup
« Reply #10 on: June 25, 2016, 06:56:16 am »
As I have written before, I really need more info in order to be able to help you.
Please provide more details about the failure (e.g. run with --verbose).

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14373
  • Sensorship about opinions does not belong here.
Re: fpcup
« Reply #11 on: June 25, 2016, 07:43:14 am »
@argb32:
That version is the good one indeed.

In the other thread you are referring to the openssl download by fpcup protected with a captcha. Well, I tested then and I tested now and it isn't. If it is on your computer I would get really worried and scan everything.....
As a generic tip: clean out the development directory that fpcup creates *before* you run it again.
I just ran fpcup both win32 and win64 trunk and it compiled on both computers: an acer laptop and a packard bell laptop. And yesterday I ran it on RPi3 (with RPi2 settings)
Give us the verbose output. It should work.
Object Pascal programmers should get rid of their "component fetish" especially with the non-visuals.

argb32

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • Pascal IDE based on IntelliJ platform
Re: fpcup
« Reply #12 on: June 25, 2016, 12:46:49 pm »
@DonAlfredo:

I've attached full verbose logs in that topic:
http://forum.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/topic,32860.0.html

@Thaddy
The Windows machine is a fresh and clean VM. Nothing to worry about.
All target directories were clean before running.
May be you already have OpenSSL installed?
When I open the direct download link in a browser it also requests a captcha input before allowing to download:
http://indy.fulgan.com/SSL/openssl-1.0.2e-i386-win32.zip

rvk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6163
Re: fpcup
« Reply #13 on: June 25, 2016, 12:51:44 pm »
When I open the direct download link in a browser it also requests a captcha input before allowing to download:
http://indy.fulgan.com/SSL/openssl-1.0.2e-i386-win32.zip
What browser? And maybe a screencapture could be useful. I don't get a captcha for that download (chrome).

argb32

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • Pascal IDE based on IntelliJ platform
Re: fpcup
« Reply #14 on: June 25, 2016, 02:22:27 pm »
@rvk:
In any browser (even Opera with Opera Turbo turned on) from my work or home I get the attached picture.

If I use some proxy I get direct download. :o

 

TinyPortal © 2005-2018