* * *

Author Topic: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?  (Read 4816 times)

GetMem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #30 on: January 10, 2018, 09:50:19 pm »
Pascal there is no need for thanks. If the DebuggerIntf idea is not working you can try something else, like sending a message to ThreadDlg window with PostMessage for example.  Unfortunately we are limited by the gdb, a custom debugger would be the ideal solution.

GetMem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #31 on: January 12, 2018, 11:01:53 am »
Hi Pascal,

Please apply the attached patch(LazFiles.zip), then test the attached project(ThreadName.zip). The patch modifies the following files, please do backup before start:
   $(LazarusDir)\components\debuggerintf\dbgintfdebuggerbase.pp
   $(LazarusDir)\debugger\threaddlg.pp
   $(LazarusDir)\ide\debugmanager.pas
With the patch, I also attach the units if you need them. After IDE rebuild, open the project, put a break point in the thread execute method, run the project then press the "Create thread" button.
You should see the thread name as in the attached screenshot. Tested with 64 bit Lazarus too.

regards,
GetMem

Pascal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 579
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #32 on: January 12, 2018, 12:07:44 pm »
Great  8)
And now integrate it into TThread.NameThreadForDebugging and we have it working crossplatform :D
laz trunk - fpc trunk 32bit - Windows 10 Pro x64

GetMem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #33 on: January 12, 2018, 01:17:52 pm »
Quote
And now integrate it into TThread.NameThreadForDebugging and we have it working crossplatform :D
It is cross-platform already. I will ask the core developers if this or a similar solution is accepted in Lazarus. TThread.NameThreadForDebugging is in FPC, adding the name there it's useless because of the gdb.

Pascal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 579
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #34 on: January 12, 2018, 01:48:28 pm »
Quote
And now integrate it into TThread.NameThreadForDebugging and we have it working crossplatform :D
It is cross-platform already. I will ask the core developers if this or a similar solution is accepted in Lazarus. TThread.NameThreadForDebugging is in FPC, adding the name there it's useless because of the gdb.
Yes, but you can integrate it in fpc and if NameThreadForDebugging is used it'll work. All you need is in fpc.

Edit:
Of cause this is only usefull if it's used with Lazarus.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2018, 02:07:05 pm by Pascal »
laz trunk - fpc trunk 32bit - Windows 10 Pro x64

Pascal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 579
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #35 on: January 12, 2018, 02:24:04 pm »
Have a look at the attched patch for fpc. It's neither tested nor build so far.
laz trunk - fpc trunk 32bit - Windows 10 Pro x64

GetMem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #36 on: January 12, 2018, 04:16:57 pm »
Quote
Have a look at the attched patch for fpc.
Looks good but I seriously doubt it will be accepted by FPC developers. The code is only useful when you debug an application from Lazarus, why should be present in classes.inc? At least this is how I see it.

Pascal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 579
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #37 on: January 12, 2018, 05:11:47 pm »
Looks good but I seriously doubt it will be accepted by FPC developers. The code is only useful when you debug an application from Lazarus, why should be present in classes.inc? At least this is how I see it.
Yes, but that's another story.

Maybe there could be implemented an interface class for Lazarus which can be instantiated by Lazarus apps and fpc classes use it if assigned.
I'll update the patch and test it.
laz trunk - fpc trunk 32bit - Windows 10 Pro x64

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5182
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #38 on: January 12, 2018, 05:25:57 pm »
Looks good but I seriously doubt it will be accepted by FPC developers. The code is only useful when you debug an application from Lazarus, why should be present in classes.inc? At least this is how I see it.
Yes, but that's another story.
No it is not: classes unit should be clean. It is the base unit for classes. Basically introducing something like this is a sin.
Quote
Maybe there could be implemented an interface class for Lazarus which can be instantiated by Lazarus apps and fpc classes use it if assigned.
I'll update the patch and test it.
The implementation can only be for platform(s) that support it which I count as one (one). So it should be in the windows specific code.
"Logically, no number of positive outcomes at the level of experimental testing can confirm a scientific theory, but a single counterexample is logically decisive."

GetMem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #39 on: January 12, 2018, 05:30:32 pm »
Quote
@Thaddy
The implementation can only be for platform(s) that support it which I count as one (one). So it should be in the windows specific code.
Just apply the patch(see above), then test the project. In theory it should work in every platform. In fact this is a good chance to test it on raspberry pi. Can you please do a quick test?

PS: I already tested on Linux mint and works fine.
PS1: If it's not working then IPC fails on that specific platform. IPC is a built in FPC feature.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2018, 05:39:04 pm by GetMem »

Thaddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5182
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #40 on: January 12, 2018, 10:07:01 pm »
10:00 CET tomorrow morning  :)
"Logically, no number of positive outcomes at the level of experimental testing can confirm a scientific theory, but a single counterexample is logically decisive."

Pascal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 579
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #41 on: January 13, 2018, 07:52:29 am »
I integrated an interface class to fpc and fpc compiles fine with -dFPC_USE_LAZINTF. (See atached patches).

Unit lazintf is placed in /rtl/objpas. But it's not build during build of fpc. What do i have to do to make it build during fpc build?
« Last Edit: January 13, 2018, 08:19:43 am by Pascal »
laz trunk - fpc trunk 32bit - Windows 10 Pro x64

GetMem

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2618
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #42 on: January 13, 2018, 08:25:52 am »
Quote
But it's not build during build of fpc. What do i have to do to make it build during fpc build?
Try to add lazintf to fpmake from /rtl/.

Pascal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 579
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #43 on: January 15, 2018, 08:00:23 am »
10:00 CET tomorrow morning  :)

Good morning Thaddy, did you test it?
laz trunk - fpc trunk 32bit - Windows 10 Pro x64

Pascal

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 579
Re: Is there any way to name my threads for debugging?
« Reply #44 on: January 18, 2018, 07:55:30 am »
10:00 CET tomorrow morning  :)

Good morning Thaddy, did you test it?
Thaddy, did you had a chance to test it?
laz trunk - fpc trunk 32bit - Windows 10 Pro x64

 

Recent

Get Lazarus at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads Open Hub project report for Lazarus