Recent

Author Topic: News from ExtPascal  (Read 22264 times)

bee

Re: News from ExtPascal
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2016, 05:32:15 pm »
I've been writing web apps since 2007 using Pascal. Most of my clients don't like web apps that behave like a desktop apps, so ExtJS-like UI is not an option for me. Not to mention the potential problem with ExtJS' license. Even if I used some of ExtJS components, I used them in page flowing layout instead of fixed size layout. Well, it's me, your mile may vary of course. :)

I'll be interested to join if you would also accomodating Bootstrap and Framework7 (for mobile web app). Today web apps must be able to work on mobile browsers and support multiple screen size or responsive design.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2016, 05:55:59 pm by bee »
-Bee-

A long time pascal lover.

xinyiman

• Lazarus and Free Pascal italian community
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2016, 05:40:33 pm »
It would be nice , but for what I think there are already other components such as brook and Hadari web components . It would be like reinventing the wheel.
Win10, Ubuntu and Mac
Lazarus: 2.1.0
FPC: 3.3.1

bee

« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2016, 05:50:30 pm »
Habari is a commercial product. AFAIR, Brook is for the back-end, not the front side UI. You may use any JS libraries with Brook, including (but not limited to) ExtJS, Bootstrap, and Framework7. You could even use AngularJS too. ExtPascal's biggest advantage is its ability to work with ExtJS as the front side UI using pascal code, by wrapping ExtJS components into pascal classes.

But, AFAIK, noone has ever created pascal wrapper for Bootstrap or Framework7 UI components. This could be both a chance and challange for any pascal programmers who is interested in making mobile-friendly web apps.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2016, 06:03:01 pm by bee »
-Bee-

xinyiman

• Lazarus and Free Pascal italian community
« Reply #19 on: January 25, 2016, 08:38:08 am »
Good job Don Alfredo.
Win10, Ubuntu and Mac
Lazarus: 2.1.0