Recent

Author Topic: Using multiple forms  (Read 30704 times)

dani.user

Using multiple forms
« on: October 28, 2006, 11:01:21 am »
Hello
I am new to lazarus. I want to ask you how I could do something like this: I have created 2 forms and I want to show the second one when I click on a button on the first form.
Thank you

theo

• Global Moderator
RE: Using multiple forms
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2006, 11:42:20 am »
File -> New Form

then in Unit1
Code: [Select]

implementation

uses Unit2;

{ TForm1 }

procedure TForm1.Button1Click(Sender: TObject);
begin
  Form2.ShowModal;
end;  

matthijs

RE: Using multiple forms
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2006, 11:52:10 am »
I usually remove all forms (except main form) from autocreate list. So therefor I would prefer to do it like this:
Code: [Select]

begin
  Form2 := TForm2.Create(nil);
  try
    Form2.ShowModal;
  finally
    Form2.Free;
  end;
end;

My opinion is, that this is safer, as you can never be sure when the user clicks on Button1 Form2 is assigned.
What's in a sig? Would my posting look less if it didnot have a sig? (Free after William S.) :)

:( Why cannot I upload my own Avatar? :(

theo

• Global Moderator
Re: RE: Using multiple forms
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2006, 01:02:48 pm »
Quote from: "matthijs"
I usually remove all forms (except main form) from autocreate list.
---
My opinion is, that this is safer, as you can never be sure when the user clicks on Button1 Form2 is assigned.

I don't understand your comment and why you want to make it more complicated than necessary for dani.user.
Why shouldn't Form2 be assigned?

CCRDude

RE: Re: RE: Using multiple forms
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2006, 02:04:08 pm »
When you've reached a dozen forms or so, it makes sense from a memory consumption point to create modal forms dynamically.