Recent

Author Topic: Basic question on Lazarus installation (admin vs. non-admin)  (Read 5783 times)

Stephan P.

Basic question on Lazarus installation (admin vs. non-admin)
« on: September 08, 2015, 01:16:53 pm »
Hi guys,

I'm still fairly new to Lazarus, and coming from Delphi I'm still working out some differences regarding the installation of my component library.

One thing I noticed is that I'm not yet sure I fully understand the installation concept of Lazarus itself :-). I should say though that when working with Lazarus, I'm logged in under a regular account, without admin rights.

Obviously, the Lazarus installer needs admin rights, since it needs to copy things such as a the Qt libraries to the Windows system directories.

But when I afterwards run the installed Lazarus under a regular user account (for now I tested this a few times on an old XP machine), I noticed a couple of problems.

1) The "directory for building test projects" is set to a directory only accessible to the admin user under which Lazarus was installed, so I need to change this manually.

2) When I try to recompile the IDE (after adding my own packages), I get error messages saying "unable to delete old state file..." (see attached screenshot).

Are these general problems with the Lazarus installer (e.g. not setting the access/ownership rights of the some of the files properly), or am I missing something and not doing it right? :-\

Thanks in advance for any pointers!

Stephan

howardpc

Re: Basic question on Lazarus installation (admin vs. non-admin)
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2015, 01:23:29 pm »
So Windows... but you don't say which version (is this on Win 10?) and whether it is 32-bit or 64-bit system. These are not insignificant details.

Stephan P.

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2015, 01:26:21 pm »
Sorry, I only mentioned XP. It's a 32bit Windows XP laptop, and the Lazarus version is the latest release version (1.4.2).

derek.john.evans