* * *

Author Topic: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4  (Read 33876 times)

mattias

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 109
    • http://www.lazarus.freepascal.org
Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« on: April 07, 2015, 02:13:24 pm »
The Lazarus team would like to announce the third release candidate for the upcoming Version 1.4.

We invite all users to test this release candidate.
Please read below why everybody really should join the testing now.

New in this Version
http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Lazarus_1.4.0_release_notes

On Windows the installer now allows two independent installations.
http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Multiple_Lazarus#Installation_of_multiple_Lazarus
 
About the release process:
http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Lazarus_1.4_fixes_branch#Roadmap_to_1.4


The 1.4RC3 is built with fpc 2.6.4.

The release candidate is available for download on SourceForge:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/lazarus/files/

Choose your CPU, OS, distro and then the "Lazarus 1.4RC3" directory.

Minimum requirements:
Windows:       98, 2k, XP, Vista, 7, 32 or 64bit.
               On 64bit it is recommended to use the 32bit IDE.
               Win98 IDE needs building with flag -dWIN9XPLATFORM.
FreeBSD/Linux: gtk 2.8 or qt4.5, 32 or 64bit.
Mac OS X:      10.5 to 10.10, 10.9+ debugging requires -gw,
               LCL only 32bit, non LCL apps can be 64bit.


== Why should everybody (including you) test the release candidate? ==

In the past months the Lazarus team has stabilized the 1.4 fixes branch. The resulting 1.4RC3 is now stable enough to be used by any one for test purposes.

However many of the fixes and new features that where committed since the release of 1.2 required changes to the code of existing features too. While we have tested those ourself, there may still be problems that only occur with very specific configurations or one project in a million.

Yes, it may be that you are the only person with a project, that will not work in the new IDE. So if you do not test, we can not fix it.

Please do not wait for the final release, in order to test. It may be too late. Once the release is out we will have to be more selective about which fixes can be merged for further 1.4.x releases. So it may be, that we can not merge the fix you require. And then you will miss out on all the new features.

== How to test ==

Download and install the 1.4RC3.
- On Windows you can install as a 2ndary install, that will not affect your current install:
  http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/Multiple_Lazarus#Installation_of_multiple_Lazarus
- On other platforms, if you install to a new location you need to use --primary-config-path

In either case you should make backups. (including your primary config)

Open your project in the current Lazarus (1.2.6), and use "Publish Project" from the project menu. This creates a clean copy of your project.

You can then open that copy in the RC3. Please test:
- If you can edit forms in the designer
   - rename components / change properties in Object inspector / Add new events
   - Add components to form / Move components on form
   - Frames, if you use them
- If you can navigate the source code (e.g. jump to implementation)
- Auto completion in source code
- Compile, debug and run
- Anything else you use in your daily work

marcodor

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2015, 02:46:54 pm »
Please add spaces on assignment operator (identifier completion) to look like A := B; not it complete as A:=
Also format a bit internal sources/units of Lazarus. I use stable version, and many functions looks not so good :)

JZS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2015, 02:47:13 pm »
Thank you Lazarus Team,
Downloading...................
I use recent stable release

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4333
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2015, 03:00:47 pm »
Please add spaces on assignment operator (identifier completion) to look like A := B; not it complete as A:=
That should be configurable. Menu: Tools > Options > Codetools> Space
Check "Symbol" in both "Add spaces in front of" and "Add spaces after"

Basile B.

  • Guest
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2015, 03:09:11 pm »
Thx  :D...
even if i'm a bit disgusted since i've released some binaries produced with the RC2 this morning.  >:(

jma_sp

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • El conocimiento si ocupa lugar.
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2015, 03:27:57 pm »
Thanks, now i´m downloading and next thing is overwrite es.po files to see results.
 
I newly tried to upload an attachment with the files translated and i get error . I think it have to do with the attachment if this post is accepted in simple text.

The file i have tried to upload is a compressed file 225 KB containing 22 files.

Probably because destination is an ftp.
« Last Edit: April 07, 2015, 03:33:11 pm by jma_sp »
Debian 8.6 - (JWM/ROX/iDesk) - Devuan Jessie 1.0 ( without systemd ) - Puppy -  Quirky Xerus 8.2 - Windows XP - ReactOS 0.4.xx  - FreeDos - OctaOS - KolibriOS

jma_sp

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • El conocimiento si ocupa lugar.
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2015, 04:28:43 pm »
OK, finally uploaded to bugtracker. If someone can test if there is to modify something before next Lazarus Release.....
Debian 8.6 - (JWM/ROX/iDesk) - Devuan Jessie 1.0 ( without systemd ) - Puppy -  Quirky Xerus 8.2 - Windows XP - ReactOS 0.4.xx  - FreeDos - OctaOS - KolibriOS

x2nie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 451
  • Impossible=I don't know the way
    • impossible is nothing - www.x2nie.com
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2015, 07:21:03 pm »
Thanks you.  8-)
downloading............. O:-)
When you were logged in, you can see attachments.
Lazarus Trunk @ Windows7 64bit, XP 32bit, Debian under VirtualMachine

motaz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 497
    • http://code.sd
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2015, 09:17:34 am »
I have start testing of RC since RC2, I get strange behavior in these versions: I get overlapped icons in TreeView, and I'm using ImageList. In some nodes I get multiple icons drawn at the same time, example attached:
Image list icons attached too.
Anybody get this behavior in these releases?
« Last Edit: April 08, 2015, 09:25:30 am by motaz »

Artie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2015, 10:04:38 am »
Custom keywords added in User Defined Markup are also highlighted inside strings. This doesn't happen with default keywords. Is it possible in Lazarus to exclude ANY markup from being highlighted inside string quotes?
Lazarus 1.6 - openSUSE Tumbleweed-i586 - Windows 7-x64

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4333
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2015, 10:08:23 am »
Custom keywords added in User Defined Markup are also highlighted inside strings. This doesn't happen with default keywords. Is it possible in Lazarus to exclude ANY markup from being highlighted inside string quotes?
NO and yes.

The trick is, set the string color (background or foreground), and give it a higher priority than the custom words.
If background, then make sure the priority for "selection" is still higher.

Artie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2015, 11:13:59 am »
NO and yes.

The trick is, set the string color (background or foreground), and give it a higher priority than the custom words.
If background, then make sure the priority for "selection" is still higher.
Then the answer is no, I guess. There is a 'priority'  button under > Display > Colors but there is no way to use this for strings, keywords or any other item under 'Object Pascal'. I also do not see how to set priority for custom keywords.

Is there a way to do this manually?
Lazarus 1.6 - openSUSE Tumbleweed-i586 - Windows 7-x64

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4333
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2015, 12:15:48 pm »
Yes you are right, I did not check before I posted.
The base colors do not have a priority.

You can add a feature request, but it will be awhile before I get to it.

JuhaManninen

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3077
  • I like bugs.
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2015, 12:19:48 pm »
I have start testing of RC since RC2, I get strange behavior in these versions: I get overlapped icons in TreeView, and I'm using ImageList. In some nodes I get multiple icons drawn at the same time, example attached:

Example code would be nice, too.
Lazarus IDE has TreeView in many places but we don't see that behavior. Is it a BiDi issue?

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4333
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 3 of 1.4
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2015, 12:26:03 pm »
Try in components\synedit\synhighlighterpas.pp
line 2345
Code: [Select]
  fStringAttri := TSynHighlighterAttributesModifier.Create(@SYNS_AttrString, SYNS_XML_AttrString);
instead of TSynHighlighterAttributes.Create

 

Recent

Get Lazarus at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads Open Hub project report for Lazarus