* * *

Author Topic: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2  (Read 91115 times)

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4332
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #15 on: November 08, 2013, 06:47:25 pm »
Another observation is that the dialog "Installing Lazarus", in spanish, doesn't have a correct transalation for the accented vocals.
Can you check the source file in tools\install\win\lazarus.es.isl ?
It looks ok to me, but I don't speak Spanish.

It probably is a problem with the INNO version we currently use. Will need to check what can be done....

Also, is your entire Desktop Spanish? It may be that with the inno version we use, this only works in that case (But I do not know)

We still use the ansi version of inno, as we also offer the installer for win98 users, and the utf version does not work on w98.

Quote
It installs OK and creates two access in the Start Menú. But it doesn't create another  link on the Desktop. Is it OK?

Afaik that is disabled. IIRC I found no simple way to change the shortcut name. So it would overwrite the existing.  I only did a quick search, so there may be a way. If someone knows.

Similar for the start menu, it changes the name. Hover ALL 2ndary get the same name. It is user-editable. But since most people just take the default, if you install a 3rd Lazarus, then it will set the proposed default to the same as for the 2nd.

I'm installing the 1.2RC1, as a second  instalation, and I still think that the Dialog "Select configuration folder" should have a default path. It is some confused.

Same problem as with the menu.

Someone has to write the code to detect all existing 2ndary installs, and then calculate an unused folder for the config.

That is because according to the Rules of most OS (incl Windows) config goes into a special folder in the users home dir.

So the primary goes into %appcondir%/lazarus   (or0 maybe app_local_conf)
%appcondir% = C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local

So each 2ndary need a unique folder name in that dir.


I simple have not got the time to do that work. (Or rather I have other priorities)

Edson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 773
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #16 on: November 08, 2013, 07:22:22 pm »
Quote
Can you check the source file in tools\install\win\lazarus.es.isl ?

It is OK, but it is on UTF-8 on my PC. I'm using Win7 Starter, all in spanish.

Quote
That is because according to the Rules of most OS (incl Windows) config goes into a special folder in the users home dir.
So the primary goes into %appcondir%/lazarus   (or0 maybe app_local_conf)

I think we don't need to follow the rules for a second installing. It could be the same path that we choose for the Second installation. It would be simpler for the user.
Lazarus 1.6 - FPC 3.0.0 - x86_64-win64 on  Windows 7

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4332
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #17 on: November 08, 2013, 07:50:15 pm »
I think we don't need to follow the rules for a second installing. It could be the same path that we choose for the Second installation. It would be simpler for the user.

The installation may run as admin, and the path may not be writeable to the user. What then?

If you want to add options and sent a patch, we can discuss what is acceptable.
E.g.
- a set of 2 buttons to fill in 1) the conf in install; 2) the path to %localappconf% + random none existing folder
- Or a list of proposals with radio buttons.

It is a bit of work though.


My current point is:
- I think it is wrong to offer ONLY the "conf in install"
- I will not work an it in the foreseeable future

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4332
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #18 on: November 08, 2013, 08:06:56 pm »
About the Spanish: I did sent you a PM, maybe it is utf8 vs ansi.

jwdietrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 932
    • formatio reticularis
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #19 on: November 08, 2013, 08:53:59 pm »
Is there anywhere a precompiled version for Mac OS X PPC available or have I to build it myself?
function GetRandomNumber: integer; // xkcd.com
begin
  GetRandomNumber := 4; // chosen by fair dice roll. Guaranteed to be random.
end;

Lazarus 1.6.4 | FPC 3.0.2 | PPC, Intel, ARM | macOS, Windows, Linux

Edson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 773
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #20 on: November 08, 2013, 09:20:40 pm »
About the Spanish: I did sent you a PM, maybe it is utf8 vs ansi.

It's OK now. Thanks. There is some text in English yet, but it's another problem

I think we don't need to follow the rules for a second installing. It could be the same path that we choose for the Second installation. It would be simpler for the user.

The installation may run as admin, and the path may not be writeable to the user. What then?


I just suggested to use the same Path used for installation. If you can install there, you can write. Or probably, I'm not understanding the problem.
Lazarus 1.6 - FPC 3.0.0 - x86_64-win64 on  Windows 7

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4332
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #21 on: November 08, 2013, 10:57:31 pm »
Is there anywhere a precompiled version for Mac OS X PPC available or have I to build it myself?

For now you have to build it yourself.  Hopefully in future it can be provided again.

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4332
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #22 on: November 08, 2013, 11:11:05 pm »
The installation may run as admin, and the path may not be writeable to the user. What then?
I just suggested to use the same Path used for installation. If you can install there, you can write. Or probably, I'm not understanding the problem.

If I can install there as admin, I may not be able to write there as user when using it. Admitted this may be rare, but (if nothing is broken) that should be possible (afaik). All files that are created, if you rebuild, should then end up in the primary-conf. (At least from what I understand).

This can also bring other conflicts.
- Some people want to delete the config, if they uninstall, or if they just delete the folder.
- Other people expect, that they can remove and delete the install folder, and the conf is still there. (After all it was/is like this with many apps and with current Lazarus too)

If the user has to take an action to set the conf folder inside the install, the the user is (or should be) aware.
If the user just clicks "next", then he/she may not be aware.

Another option in to add more explaining text to the page. But again, I am not going to spent any of my time on that. The only time I will spent is applying patches (except setting the conf inside the install, WITHOUT any user interaction.)


marc_dsb

  • New member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #23 on: November 10, 2013, 04:24:03 am »
The installation of RAUDUS component was not successful, the message error "RaCreatorFPC.pas(72,12) Fatal: Can not find RaCreatorFPC used by RaudusFPC, C:\Users\usuario\Documents\Raudus2\bin\fpc262\i386-win32\RaCreatorFPC.ppu, package RaudusFPC" (Win 7 Home)

Was successfuly installed on Windows XP under VIRTUALBOX.

Was tipycally installed on windows 7 home version 1.010  FPC 2.6.2

Thanks for the good works !!

marc_dsb       8)

hinst

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #24 on: November 10, 2013, 04:26:06 pm »
How very interesting. I tried enabling easydockmgr package after installing this version of Lazarus and once again source editor window gets stuck inside the main window. I guess it is a feature then
This bug was present about two years ago I think. Is this the "wrong" docking manager? I keep forgetting which one I should use "anchor" or "easy".
Anyway, neither of them is usable. Well, they are usable to some point, but both contain bugs. Docking never works like it should for me. Is it just me? Or am I the only one who uses docking?
« Last Edit: November 10, 2013, 04:31:28 pm by hinst »
Too late to escape fate

zamtmn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #25 on: November 10, 2013, 05:06:12 pm »
>>Or am I the only one who uses docking?
not one. I use anchordoсking ... it is far from ideal, and goes from the release to release in this state

hinst

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #26 on: November 10, 2013, 05:11:48 pm »
Screw docking. I found another bug. Which makes IDE unusable.
Every time I click File -> Open it shows Open File dialog and then crashes immediately.
I rebuilt the IDE using debug configuration, here is what I got:

C:\Lazarus_1.2_RC1>Lazarus.exe
using config file C:\Lazarus_1.2_RC1\lazarus.cfg
SetPrimaryConfigPath NewValue="C:\Lazarus_1.2_RC1\USERSETT_INGS" -> "C:\Lazarus_1.2_RC1\USERSETT_INGS"
TMainIDE.ParseCmdLineOptions:
  PrimaryConfigPath="C:\Lazarus_1.2_RC1\USERSETT_INGS\"
  SecondaryConfigPath="C:\Lazarus_1.2_RC1"
TIDEAnchorDockMaster.MakeIDEWindowDockSite MainIDE:TMainIDEBar
TIDEAnchorDockMaster.LoadUserLayout anchordocklayout.xml
TIDEAnchorDockMaster.LoadUserLayout restoring ...
TSourceEditorSharedValues.GetMainLinkScanner CodeBuffer=nil
TSourceEditorSharedValues.GetMainLinkScanner not a pascal source: unit1.pas
TIDEAnchorDockMaster.ShowForm AControl=ObjectInspectorDlg:TObjectInspectorDlg NeedPlacing=True Floating=True
TIDEAnchorDockMaster.ShowForm placing ObjectInspectorDlg:TObjectInspectorDlg ...
TIDEAnchorDockMaster.ShowForm creator for ObjectInspectorDlg:TObjectInspectorDlg found: Left=0 Top=120 Right=+230 Bottom=-120 DockSiblingName= DockAlign=alNone l=0,t=200,
r=230,b=750
TIDEAnchorDockMaster.ShowForm MakeVisible ObjectInspectorDlg:TObjectInspectorDlg l=0,t=0,r=300,b=669 Floating=True
here I click "Open..."
TApplication.HandleException Access violation
  Stack trace:
  $000000010001A2C8
lazarus.pp - unhandled exception
[FORMS.PP] ExceptionOccurred
  Sender=EAccessViolation
  Sender=EAccessViolation
[FORMS.PP] ExceptionOccurred

No stack trace actually. Despite the fact that I built it with debug information enabled. Well, Lazarus executable file size is 197 megabytes now, so I am pretty certain that debug information is included now. Too bad it does not appear in console.
It crashes right after I click "Open" menu item, not when I choose some file. I don't even get to choosing file. Open File dialog appears and stays on screen just long enough to notice the presence of it. And then it crashes and "Application stopped working" standard Windows dialog window appears.
---
Windows 8 Pro 64bit
« Last Edit: November 10, 2013, 05:24:50 pm by hinst »
Too late to escape fate

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4332
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #27 on: November 10, 2013, 07:33:40 pm »
* AFAIK *

EaysDocking was once contributed. No idea if it will be maintained at all, unless the original contributor picks up issues (last seen march 2012, If I am correct). Or patches are submitted.

AnchorDocking, was started by Mattias, it does actually receive fixes (according to SVN). But it is still beta (afaik), and will probably still be for a while.
I do not know what the priorities on this are.

hinst

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #28 on: November 11, 2013, 03:14:50 pm »
What about "crash on open file" bug? [which I described in my previous message in this thread] Should I post it to bug tracker? Anyone else experienced it?
P.S.: looks like it also crashes when I click "new unit" button on the toolbar
P.P.S: I am talking about >this< version of Lazarus 1.2 RC1
« Last Edit: November 11, 2013, 03:50:32 pm by hinst »
Too late to escape fate

Martin_fr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4332
    • wiki
Re: Lazarus Release Candidate 1 of 1.2
« Reply #29 on: November 11, 2013, 04:40:53 pm »
The "crash on open file" is a knows problem, and a report already exists.
(Well most likely, the same as you experienced)

It is a win 64 bit issue afaik, and it is due to missing SEH support in current released FPC.

It is fixed in fpc 2.7.1, but apparently can not be backported to 2.6.x

It affects the IDE and user apps.

You can sue the 32 bit IDE, with the 64 bit add on. Then you have a stable IDE, and you can build, run and debug 32 and 64 bit apps.

However, compiling 64 bit apps only is useful if they do not need SEH.

-----------------
That is all I know on the topic.

If you need further info, best to open a dedicated topic.

 

Recent

Get Lazarus at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads Open Hub project report for Lazarus