Recent

Author Topic: readln problem on linux and gdb for console applications  (Read 12341 times)

vagk77

readln problem on linux and gdb for console applications
« on: December 31, 2005, 09:01:48 pm »
I have the problem below in linux. In windows it works.
I am trying to debug console applications with lazarus.
I know i cannot use the run parameters and execute on an external xterm with the gdb in linux.
So I run lazarus from console and watch the output there.
I can debug alright and see the output of writeln but when I have a readln in my program and it stops there it cannot proceed
I assume that the input I give from console to the readln conflicts and maybe goes to the lazarus IDE and not to my running console application. So I stuck here.
Does anyone know for a workaround to use readln and gdb for console applications in linux?
I am a teacher in a public school and I want to use lazarus in a teaching course and I want to show the debugger as well!!
[/b]

felipemdc

• Administrator
Re: readln problem on linux and gdb for console applications
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2006, 12:19:09 am »
I know i cannot use the run parameters and execute on an external xterm with the gdb in linux.

Why can't you? I have already done it and it works well. Of course, using the IDE is the prefered way (the easier way), but it works from the console too!

You just need to set a breakpoint for fpc_raiseexception and it will stop on all pascal exceptions. =)

Works pretty well.

Lazarus documentation can be found here: http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/Lazarus_Documentation
And there is a page showing how to create a backtrace with gdb from the console and thus with ReadLn working here: http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/index.php/Creating_a_Backtrace_with_GDB

Fell free to explore the wiki and even contribute if you wish so =)

I am a teacher in a public school and I want to use lazarus in a teaching course and I want to show the debugger as well!!