Recent

Author Topic: Network Load balancing for socket application?  (Read 7763 times)

jl

Network Load balancing for socket application?
« on: September 06, 2011, 06:43:11 am »
Hi, some of my clients are asking if I can provide server redundancy for my tcp daemon which uses Indy.  The only way I can think of is to use a network load balancer.  Any thoughts on how this can be done using Lazarus?  I would like it to be cross platform if possible.

Note: I've tried googling but to no avail.    %)

jl

Re: Network Load balancing for socket application?
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2011, 08:41:46 am »
Any thoughts?  I was told it can be done using netsh on windows platform.  How about Linux?  Thanks.   :)

IPguy

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2011, 03:24:41 am »
(Disclaimer - in my day job, I'm a network architect / engineer)

What is the function of your application?
What exactly are your customer's requirements?

What do they mean and expect when they ask for "server redundancy"?

Are they looking for fail-over, true load balancing or just client incoming connection distribution?

Are they asking for the application itself to be load balanced?  (ie: is this a clustered application?)

There is plenty of information available if you google "unix load balancing".

jl

« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2011, 09:28:13 am »
Sorry, missed out your reply.

(Disclaimer - in my day job, I'm a network architect / engineer)

What is the function of your application?
What exactly are your customer's requirements?
What do they mean and expect when they ask for "server redundancy"?

It is a messaging server (email + sms) with tcp interface.  The customer requires some sort of failover.

Are they looking for fail-over, true load balancing or just client incoming connection distribution?

Failover is sufficient.

Are they asking for the application itself to be load balanced?  (ie: is this a clustered application?)

This is generally not required.