Recent

Author Topic: Future of Lazarus / FreePascal  (Read 446379 times)

mvampire

Future of Lazarus / FreePascal
« on: July 07, 2011, 01:30:41 pm »
Dear forum members.

I like Lazarus and FPC very much. But now I see that both are not very popular among my friend/collegues/other people around me. As myself I use it for the research (I'm a PhD student) and very rare on the job (our department, about 30 people, uses Java+Eclipse for development) as a replacement for complicated bash scripts (I know bash scripting, but not very well).

So I see that it's not very popular and want to ask how you see the future of FPC+Lazarus? Which role should it play? Language for serious business projects? Language for researchers and students? Or just a language to support old Delphi projects? Anything else?

If I compare FPC+Lazarus with Java+Eclipse for corporate use, i see that Java+Eclipse have:
- Continuous integration systems (Jenkins, Hudson)
- SVN/CVS integration (Team SVN provider)
- dependency management (Maven)
- Javadoc and help system
- a lot of libraries, e.g. for Web (e.g., SOAP, for Lazarus I know about wsdl toolkit 0.5, but it never worked for me)
- Web application servers (e.g., Tomcat)

All this staff is very important for business projects, so of course Java+Eclipse is a very popular solution and it's very complicated for FPC+Lazarus to compete with them. Many corporations invest money in Java, Lazarus does not have such a financial sources. So it's OK. Sad but true:)

Then I try and remember that Pascal from the beginning was a language for learning/researching. So it should be nice for students. Indeed, in Russian universities it's still popular. For Europe I can't say so. And there is a global tendency in moving from Pascal to Java, C++, again, because they fit better business needs.

What else is important for students? Contests!

But if you see at Programming Enviroment at IBM ACM ICPC (the biggest team student contest in the world):